Possession and Protection

Schmoe

Adventurer
A PC in my group was possessed by a ghost. Another PC tried to cast Protection from Evil on the possessed PC. Does the ghost get to make a Will save to resist the spell?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

3.5 srd said:
Protection from Evil
Abjuration [Good]
Level: Clr 1, Good 1, Pal 1, Sor/Wiz 1
Components: V, S, M/DF
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Touch
Target: Creature touched
Duration: 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw: Will negates (harmless)
Spell Resistance: No; see text
This spell wards a creature from attacks by evil creatures, from mental control, and from summoned creatures. It creates a magical barrier around the subject at a distance of 1 foot. The barrier moves with the subject and has three major effects.
First, the subject gains a +2 deflection bonus to AC and a +2 resistance bonus on saves. Both these bonuses apply against attacks made or effects created by evil creatures.
Second, the barrier blocks any attempt to possess the warded creature (by a magic jar attack, for example) or to exercise mental control over the creature (including enchantment (charm) effects and enchantment (compulsion) effects that grant the caster ongoing control over the subject, such as dominate person). The protection does not prevent such effects from targeting the protected creature, but it suppresses the effect for the duration of the protection from evil effect. If the protection from evil effect ends before the effect granting mental control does, the would-be controller would then be able to mentally command the controlled creature. Likewise, the barrier keeps out a possessing life force but does not expel one if it is in place before the spell is cast. This second effect works regardless of alignment.
Third, the spell prevents bodily contact by summoned creatures. This causes the natural weapon attacks of such creatures to fail and the creatures to recoil if such attacks require touching the warded creature. Good summoned creatures are immune to this effect. The protection against contact by summoned creatures ends if the warded creature makes an attack against or tries to force the barrier against the blocked creature. Spell resistance can allow a creature to overcome this protection and touch the warded creature.
Arcane Material Component: A little powdered silver with which you trace a 3-foot -diameter circle on the floor (or ground) around the creature to be warded.

No... It's in the SRD, clear cut (for once! Imagine that! Crystal Clear!!)
 
Last edited:

Tilla the Hun (work) said:
No... It's in the SRD, clear cut (for once! Imagine that! Crystal Clear!!)

Clarity would definitely be something to get excited about! I still have a question about it, though. Since the PC is controlled by the possessing creature, does the possessing creature determine when it attempts to resist a spell? For example, who would make the Will save if targeted by a Fear spell? Is Protection from Evil different (both allow Will saves)? Why or why not?
 

Does anyone else have any input? I"m curious as to whether I was too harsh on my PC's or not (I ruled that the ghost attempted to resist the spell).

-Noah
 

IMO the ghost is still in the character's body, but the Protection from evil spell prevents it from actually controling said body. The spell won't force out the ghost, but it WILL prevent it from exercing control.

Since the ghost is controling the body, it probably doesn't want Protection from evil cast on it. Since it is possible to resist (Save: Will (harmless)) Protection from Evil, then, IMO, yes, the character, controlled by the ghost, should have gotten a save.

AR
 

Altamont Ravenard said:
IMO the ghost is still in the character's body, but the Protection from evil spell prevents it from actually controling said body. The spell won't force out the ghost, but it WILL prevent it from exercing control.

Since the ghost is controling the body, it probably doesn't want Protection from evil cast on it. Since it is possible to resist (Save: Will (harmless)) Protection from Evil, then, IMO, yes, the character, controlled by the ghost, should have gotten a save.

AR

That's what I ruled, as well. Glad to see I'm not the only one who interprets it that way. Based on the (obviously biased :) ) reactions I got from my players, I was wondering if I was out in left field or not.
 

Remove ads

Top