Hypersmurf
Moderatarrrrh...
mvincent said:But yet (as mentioned) the majority of the players that I have encountered (including the Sage) came to this conclusion.
In the case of the Sage, he did us the favour of 'showing his working'... which means it's easier to track down his error.
By providing the longsword example as a part of his answer, he has demonstrated that he has invented a rule that how you are holding a weapon can alter its light/one-handed/two-handed designation. He then applies this non-existent rule in order to reach his conclusion.
By changing size category, you can alter a weapon's designation. By taking a feat like Monkey Grip, you might alter a weapon's designation. But not by adding or removing a hand.
The answer is based on a flawed premise - and because the answer is detailed enough to contain that premise, we can see the flaw.
-Hyp.