PrC - Axe Thrower

Azure Trance

First Post
The axe thrower in 7 Seas was great in concept but in my opinion much too overpowered. Here is my version.

Axe Thrower v1.0
Pre-Req

• Feats & Skills: Weapon Focus (Throwing Axe), Point Blank, Wilderness Lore 4
  • Base Attack Bonus: +4 BAB
  • Ability Score: Dex 13+

Hit Dice: d10
Skill Points Per Level: 2 + Int Modifier

Level 1 - BAB +1 - Fort +2 / Ref +0 / Will +0 - Quickdraw w/ Axes
Level 2 - BAB +2 - Fort +3 / Ref +0 / Will +0 - Rapid Shot w/ Axes
Level 3 - BAB +3 - Fort +3 / Ref +1 / Will +1 - 20 Foot Range
Level 4 - BAB +4 - Fort +4 / Ref +1 / Will +1 - +2 Damage w/ Axes
Level 5 - BAB +5 - Fort +4 / Ref +1 / Will +1 - Improved Critical w/ Axes

I'm not very good with fluff or formatting, so forgive me. On a power rating scale, I'd give this an 8 out of 10 - for hurling axes only (and a wee bit for melee combat). By 9th level this designed-for-NPC-use-prestige-class character is quite good at his profession, and as far as an axe thrower could go, I don't see why they'd have to be any higher level to be especially proficent in this one weapon. I was mostly inspired by the Goth invasion scene in Gladiator, where a hail of axes came out of the forest toward the Romans.*

The +4 BAB requirement is left over from the original class design. I've only picked two feats to make it accessible to barbarians (1st and 3rd level). The wilderness lore skill requirement is straight from the original design. Quick draw and rapid shot are self-explanatory - at 1st level the character can throw an axe in one hand and immediately arm himself with another as a free action; at 2nd level he can throw both axes in his hands. Third level improves the range to something more respectable, so said axe thrower need not be immediately charged and bullrushed after the first volley. The last two bonuses were to address my concerns on the low damage potential of the throwing axe at a paltry d6.