i don't want to derail this thread, but i also do not want to ignore your question, cadfan.MaximumHavoc- But beneficial zones created in close bursts don't have holes in them, right?
i will attempt to provide an acceptable answer:There are a lot of close bursts that create zones that do good things. Like Consecrated Ground or Hallowed Circle or Sacred Circle. Are other people playing these like they have little holes in the middle?
By a strict reading from the pro-hole side of the debate, Healing Word can't heal the cleric, because he's not in a close burst 5 of himself. He's in the little tiny hole inside of the close burst 5 that isn't included.
I don't think there is a "pro-hole" side of the debate. My information was based on the diagram in the PHB, which seems to be incorrect as per the full rules.Are other people playing these like they have little holes in the middle?
By a strict reading from the pro-hole side of the debate...
How so. RAW is pretty clear.However, I'll disagree with Jack99 on a RAW interpretation of the effect. By RAW, the druid is absolutely effected by the zones initial attack (and any subsequent attack).
Nothing in the power should override that. The only thing I can see that could be interpreted as such would be that it affects all creatures. But then every single wizard close burst power would affect the wizard as well.Unless a power description notes otherwise, a close burst you create does not affect you. However, an area burst you create does affect you. A burst affects a target only if there is line of effect from the burst’s origin square to the target.
I agree that the fact that a zone is created makes things troublesome. I still think I will stick to the druid being immune, especially if this type of power is one of a kind. But maybe the designers will save us and let us know what they intended or perhaps even errata the power.I'll agree that RAI, it seems to make sense for the druid to not be effected - it's silly otherwise - but allowing for zones to not effect the creator carte-blanche is a pretty big change to the current ruleset. It significantly powers up existing zone powers (which are generally considered quite powerful already)!
Could you toss us an example?Often I've found with 4e that the common-sense interpretation often isn't the correct one and can result in big balance issues.
I agree it's clear, but not the way you're interpreting it! The key phrases to me are:How so. RAW is pretty clear.
Several. They way that flying creatures move (and movement in general, which is related to the non-euclidean geometry of 4e). The effect of Tide of Iron and/or things like garottes (seriously, we had a gargantuan blue dragon on the battlemat last night, and thinking about how my assassin's garotte was supposed to hurt it in any way, let alone grab and immobilise it just broke my mind). That's just off the top of my head - I'm sure I could dig up several other examples.Could you toss us an example?
That's a superficially good argument, but it doesn't actually make sense. The target "you or one ally" has to be within the range of the spell. If an ally isn't in the range of the spell, it can't affect the ally. If you aren't in the range of the spell, it can't affect you. And under your interpretation, by definition you are not in the range of this spell.i will attempt to provide an acceptable answer:
If a specific rule contradicts a general rule, the specific rule wins. For example, a general rule states that you can’t use a daily power when you charge. But if you have a daily power that says you can use it when you charge, the power’s specific rule wins. It doesn’t mean that you can use any daily power when you charge, just that one. PHB 11
general rule
Unless a power description notes otherwise, a close burst you create does not affect you. PHB 272
specific rule
healing word - close burst - target: you or one ally. PHB 62
I agree it's clear, but not the way you're interpreting it! The key phrases to me are:
"The burst creates a zone of vermin that lasts until the end of your next turn."
and
"When the zone appears, make the following attack. As a standard action, you can repeat the attack.
Target: Each creature within the zone or adjacent to it"
So the close burst doesn't attack anything (and the rule you quoted is irrelevant). It simply creates a zone and the zone then attacks (and note that the zone attack isn't a close burst itself - it's an attack against every creature adjacent to or in the zone).