Produce Flame

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
Can you attack (using the flame) in the same round that you cast this spell? In the following rounds, can you use multiple flames if you have iterative (or TWF) attacks?

Produce Flame
Evocation [Fire]

Level: Drd 1, Fire 2
Components: V, S
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: 0 ft.
Effect: Flame in your palm
Duration: 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw: None
Spell Resistance: Yes

Flames as bright as a torch appear in your open hand. The flames harm neither you nor your equipment.

In addition to providing illumination, the flames can be hurled or used to touch enemies. You can strike an opponent with a melee touch attack, dealing fire damage equal to 1d6 +1 point per caster level (maximum +5). Alternatively, you can hurl the flames up to 120 feet as a thrown weapon. When doing so, you attack with a ranged touch attack (with no range penalty) and deal the same damage as with the melee attack. No sooner do you hurl the flames than a new set appears in your hand. Each attack you make reduces the remaining duration by 1 minute. If an attack reduces the remaining duration to 0 minutes or less, the spell ends after the attack resolves.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No, to attacking on the same round as casting... it's an effect spell.


Yes to iterative attacks... but watch your duration closely.


And I'll say yes to casting two spells for twf.


Mike
 




mikebr99 said:
No, to attacking on the same round as casting... it's an effect spell.

Could you elaborate on that? Are you saying that because it has an "Effect:" line in its description, you cannot attack in the same round?
 

Ki Ryn said:
Could you elaborate on that? Are you saying that because it has an "Effect:" line in its description, you cannot attack in the same round?
Right... it's main purpose is to produce a flame in your hand for illumination. And in later rounds, you can whack with it or throw it.

If it could be used in the same round as casting, it would have been noted as a touch spell or range 120ft.

the call lightning wording would have been used...
Immediately upon completion of the spell, and once per round thereafter,
...or something similar. YMMV



Mike
 

I wish that there was actually a rule written somewhere about that. Parsing the language used by the authors on a case-by-case basis just isn't enough to make a firm ruling on - far too subjective.

I've looked at Melf's, Call Lightning, and this spell. Are there other examples (especially of spells that you CAN'T use right away)? This is the only one I can think of - which makes me suspect it is poor wording rather than designer intent. :(
 

Ki Ryn said:
I wish that there was actually a rule written somewhere about that. Parsing the language used by the authors on a case-by-case basis just isn't enough to make a firm ruling on - far too subjective.

I've looked at Melf's, Call Lightning, and this spell. Are there other examples (especially of spells that you CAN'T use right away)? This is the only one I can think of - which makes me suspect it is poor wording rather than designer intent. :(
I would say, Righteous Might, Divine Favour, all the buffing spells etc., can't be used to attack with in the same round as casting. Again, these are all effect spells, not attack ones.

It really has to say in the description, or have a range, other then personal, to be used at the end of the std. action it took to cast.

Mike
 


Remove ads

Top