• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

project for school: Impact of E-books on Publishing

boerngrim

Explorer
Hi,
I'm a college student working on a project for class. My topic is the impact E-Books have had on independent and desktop publishing. Since many of the posters here are E-publishers I was hoping maybe some of you could give me your thoughts on E-books and desktop publishing. I understand that you're all very busy people and I would greatly appreciate any input you would care to give me.
Thank you!
Jared

Last edited:

Prest0

First Post
boerngrim said:
My topic is the impact PDF technology has had on independent and desktop publishing. Since many of the posters here are PDF publishers I was hoping maybe some of you could give me your thoughts on PDF's and desktop publishing.

I think you need to be a lot more specific on what you're looking for. PDF is a format that locks in page design to create "portable documents". Designers use it all the time to take books, brochures, flyers, etc. for printing on presses. That was its first and primary purpose.

However, I don't think that's what you're really asking about. I think asking about the impact of e-book technology on publishing? Or are you actually focused on the PDF format in particular?

I'd advise narrowing your topic.

boerngrim

Explorer
Prest0 said:
I think you need to be a lot more specific on what you're looking for. PDF is a format that locks in page design to create "portable documents". Designers use it all the time to take books, brochures, flyers, etc. for printing on presses. That was its first and primary purpose.

However, I don't think that's what you're really asking about. I think asking about the impact of e-book technology on publishing? Or are you actually focused on the PDF format in particular?