Protection from Evil question

Irda Ranger said:
However, doesn't Protection from X grant a total immunity from the entire school of Charm?
Charm isn't a school. EDIT: okay, it's a subschool.

The Protection spells block mental control. Charm Person and Charm Monster don't let you control the target, the target simply regards the caster as a really good friend.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Animal Friendship
Enchantment (Charm) [Mind-Affecting]

Charm Monster
Enchantment (Charm) [Mind-Affecting]

Charm Person
Enchantment (Charm) [Mind-Affecting]

Charm is a subschool of Enchantment, like Creation or Calling are subschools of Conjuration.

-Hyp.
 

From the FAQ:

The second function of the protection from evil spell blocks any attempt to possess the warded creature or to exercise mental control over the creature. What, exactly, counts as mental control?

Mental control includes all spells of the school of Enchantment that have the Charm subschool, such as animal friendship, charm person, and charm monster. It also includes some Enchantment spells of the Compulsion subschool if those spells grant the caster ongoing control over the subject; such spells include dominate person and dominate monster. Compulsions that merely dictate the subject s action at the time the spell takes effect are not blocked. Such spells include command, hold person, geas/quest, hypnotism, insanity, Otto s irresistible dance, random action, suggestion, and zone of truth.
Well, I disagree that charm should get lumped in with domination, since it doesn't allow you to actually control the target.
 


Okay, here is one for you. Let's say that a vampire has dominated a character and issues the command that when your friends attack you must defend me.

Simple enough.

However, before the party attacks the vampire in question, a Protection From Evil is placed on the dominated character. Would that character still be compelled to defend the vampire during the duration of the protection because the command was issued prior?

This came up in a campaign I was playing in.
 

Y'all raise good points, and I'm tempted to throw out the FAQ on this one. I'd rather rule that, for the duration of a protection from evil, it's as if the target of the spell has a limited antimagic field on her that suppresses all spells of the (compulsion) subschool. Simple, unambiguous. Charm spells work, since they're not controlling the PC; hold person fails. As long as the protection spell is up, a dominated or suggested person may act freely.

Yeah! Screw the FAQ!

Daniel
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top