Provoking multiple AoOs...

RigaMortus

Explorer
If I am within someone's threat range, and I move 10' through it, I provoke an AoO. If I continue to move through it, do I continue to provoke? Or is movement considered one opportunity?

If I fire a bow in someone's threat range, I provoke an AoO. If I fire more than once (using the Full Attack Action), do I provoke more than once?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You can provoke more than once for doing separate things (drink potion, move out of threatened square) but not for doing the same thing (moving out of a second threatened square).

Regarding firing a bow I would say that you provoke an AoO each time, one per attack you make.
 

RigaMortus said:
If I am within someone's threat range, and I move 10' through it, I provoke an AoO. If I continue to move through it, do I continue to provoke? Or is movement considered one opportunity?

You provoke one AoO for every threatened square you move out of. The AoO occurs before you manage to move out of the square.

RigaMortus said:
If I fire a bow in someone's threat range, I provoke an AoO. If I fire more than once (using the Full Attack Action), do I provoke more than once?

Well, in the table Actions in Combat, it says Full-Attack does not provoke AoO, but in this case I am not sure... I guess each attack is considered a separate ranged attack, and each provokes one AoO, but that's just me.

ANYWAYS, I think you can only perform one AoO for a given opponent during a round. Once you perform the AoO, that's the only one you will do against that given opponent, even if you can do more than one per round.
 
Last edited:

Err... So which is it?

Plane Sailing said:
You can provoke more than once for doing separate things (drink potion, move out of threatened square) but not for doing the same thing (moving out of a second threatened square).

OR

Sheng Long Gradilla said:
You provoke one AoO for every threatened square you move out of. The AoO occurs before you manage to move out of the square.

???

Still confused about this...
 

PHB p. 138:
PHB said:
Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn’t count as more than one opportunity for that opponent.
 

From the SRD (emphasis mine)
Combat Reflexes and Additional Attacks of Opportunity: If you have the Combat Reflexes feat you can add your Dexterity modifier to the number of attacks of opportunity you can make in a round. This feat does not let you make more than one attack for a given opportunity, but if the same opponent provokes two attacks of opportunity from you, you could make two separate attacks of opportunity (since each one represents a different opportunity). Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn’t count as more than one opportunity for that opponent. All these attacks are at your full normal attack bonus.

So... if you move out of two square threatened by only one person, it only counts as one opportunity.

As for the archer using a full attack... there are two possible ways to consider this, and from the reading, either is correct.

Either:
  • The archer provokes one attack of opportunity for the use of a ranged weapon in a threatened square.
  • The archer does NOT provoke an attack of opportunity for the use of a full attack action in a threatened square.

I would be more inclined to go with the first interpretation; going with the second would mean that most archers above sixth level can use a full attack action to circumvent AoO inside melee range for using their bow, which I don't think was the intent of the designers. YMMV.
 
Last edited:

Mordane76 said:
As for the archer using a full attack... there are two possible ways to consider this, and from the reading, either is correct.

I'd go with the third interpretation. Each time you take a shot, you are 'attacking with a ranged weapon', and provoke an AoO.

It's worse for a crossbowman with Rapid Reload, since each time he reloads, he provokes, and each time he shoots, he provokes.

going with the second would mean that most archers above sixth level can use a full attack action to circumvent AoO inside melee range for using their bow, which I don't think was the intent of the designers. YMMV.

First level archers can still use the Full Attack action. They just only get one shot out of it.

-Hyp.
 


But each attack in a full-attack action is not a standard action - the full attack is one action for the sake of the rules. I think archers should be penalized for making the attack in a threatened space, but not for each iterative attack. This can create a situation where an archer provokes four AoOs per round, possibly against multiple attackers... if those attackers have Combat Reflexes... we're talking about a lot of dice, a lot of extra rolling, and a lot of time spent on just one person's attacks.

Obviously, an archer shouldn't usually be in such a situation where he'd provoke multiple AoOs like this, but it is a possibility, and one that I think most games would sigh in growing collective frustration over the more it occurred.
 

Hypersmurf said:
I'd go with the third interpretation. Each time you take a shot, you are 'attacking with a ranged weapon', and provoke an AoO.

Yep, that's what I think as well (except for the wording, but the result is the same).

Bye
Thanee
 

Remove ads

Top