Provoking multiple AoOs...

Sheng Long Gradilla said:
That PrC is Order of the Bow Initiate. I guess the book you mean is Masters of the Wild, but it's not there. It's in Sword and Fist.
Its also been updated to 3.5 in Complete Warrior. :) The archer PrC in MotW was Deepwood Sniper.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Mordane76 said:
The table versus the text leaves certain ambiguities; reading the table, I wouldn't allow someone to mix and match sunder, trip, and disarm into a full attack as they are separate standard actions in the table.

Read the table again.

Sunder is indeed a separate standard action on the table.

However, trip and disarm are not standard actions; they are 'Action Type: Varies', and carry footnote 7, which specifically states that they can be used one or more times in a full attack action.

-Hyp.
 


Thanee said:
The Sunder text says, that it is an attack, not a standard action.

It doesn't say it's an attack. It says you can use a melee attack to damage an opponent's weapon or shield.

When does Sunder text apply? When you're Sundering.

So, if you take the Sunder standard action, you can use a melee attack to damage an opponent's weapon or shield.

If you don't take the Sunder standard action, you can't.

It's the only interpretation that doesn't require one to assume an error in the PHB.

-Hyp.
 



Thanks Hypersmurf, I was winging it when I made the sunder example, I suspected one of them was a standard action, not an attack action.

Caliban said:
I thought you said that "Attacking with a Ranged Weapon" isn't what provokes?
Hence why she said except for the wording but the effect is the same.
 

Indeed. :)

For further clarification.

Each time you take a shot you provoke an attack of opportunity, because you are 'attacking with a ranged weapon'. However, the 'attacking with a ranged weapon' is not what provokes the attack of opportunity, the action (sub-action here) is.

Bye
Thanee
 
Last edited:

Thanee said:
Indeed. :)

For further clarification.

Each time you take a shot you provoke an attack of opportunity, because you are 'attacking with a ranged weapon'. However, the 'attacking with a ranged weapon' is not what provokes the attack of opportunity, the action (sub-action here) is.

Bye
Thanee

Where is this "sub-action" in the rules? Sounds like what the rules call an "attack".

And Full Attack isn't listed as provoking an AoO, so if it's not "Attacking with a ranged weapon" that causes it to provoke, why do you think it provokes? (Oh wait, you say the Full Attack action is marked incorrectly.)

Same thing with Manyshot.

If it is only actions that provoke, how can one action (like the Full Attack action) provoke multiple AoO's? Your still doing only one action.

And if you do think this "sub-action" thing is at work, doesn't that mean casting a ranged touch spell would provoke twice? Once for the "Cast a spell" action, and once for the "attack with a ranged weapon" sub-action?
 

The casting of a ranged touch spell would provoke only once, in most cases I can think of, because the text of the spell considers casting the spell as part of the attack (at least in most instances I can think of, just like touch spells). If the spell specifically stated you had to cast first, then attack second, you would provoke two AoO - one for casting the spell, and one for the ranged attack.
 

Remove ads

Top