Psionic Weapon and its kin

Spatzimaus

First Post
A player asked me something and I was hard-pressed to come up with a concrete wording that answered it. This might end up having to go in the House Rules forum, but I want to know how do you play these in your campaign, if at all? Or, more specificially, how WOULD you play these if you could tweak the rule?

In the Psionic Handbook, there are three weapon-based Feat chains, that start with Feats like Psionic Weapon (+1d4 damage for 1 power point) and then have touch Feats like Deep Impact (melee attack becomes touch attack for 5 power points).

In both cases, the bonus is lost after an attack attempt, whether successful or not. It also says that your weapon stays "charged" for a number of rounds equal to your Strength bonus.

So, the questions:
1> Is charging the weapon a Free Action (i.e., "I attack, and it's charged") or a Partial Action?
2> If it's Free, why bother with the "hold a charge a number of rounds equal to STR mod" part since you could just activate as needed?
3> If it's Free, can you use it on an AoO? Should it count as a quickened spell?
4> If it's a Partial action, would anyone use it? At low level you might be willing to do the +1d4 damage, and at high level the Touch, but it seems like a waste of a Feat then.
5> On a Full Attack does it only apply to the first individual attack, the first successful hit, or all hits?
6> If it lasts for STR bonus turns, can I charge the weapon and then hand it to someone else?

Remember, I'm not just asking "what do the rules say?" but "how do you think it should be?"
For example, I could say that instead of the current system, I think these should be partial actions, last a number of turns equal to your STR bonus, and cost (1 or 5) power points per turn (dispel at will). Obviously that's not how it works now, though.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Is charging the weapon a Free Action (i.e., "I attack, and it's charged") or a Partial Action?

It's a free action. Psionic feats are still Ex abilities, as confirmed by Bruce Cordell, and unless stated otherwise, an Ex ability is a free action. After all, it doesn't take a standard action to Cleave!

It would be useless if it wasn't a free action, anyway.

If it's Free, why bother with the "hold a charge a number of rounds equal to STR mod" part since you could just activate as needed?

You are correct. Of course, there's coolness factor. I could light my weapon with blue energy, maybe giving a +1 bonus to an Intimidate check.

If it's Free, can you use it on an AoO? Should it count as a quickened spell?

Yes for the first question, and no for the second question.

If it's a Partial action, would anyone use it? At low level you might be willing to do the +1d4 damage, and at high level the Touch, but it seems like a waste of a Feat then.

It's a free action.

On a Full Attack does it only apply to the first individual attack, the first successful hit, or all hits?

You must use it once per individual attack. Since it's a free action, you can use it with iterative attacks.

If it lasts for STR bonus turns, can I charge the weapon and then hand it to someone else?

No.
 

Remove ads

Top