Q: Adamantine/Mithral

Kyramus said:
ie an Adamantite longsword is a longsword +2. if enchanted to be a +1 longsword, it's pointless as the +2 of the material takes precidence since it's a higher bonus. but if enchanted to +5, the +5 is used. the +2 from it's material doesn't stack with the enhancement bonus of +5 since the material bonus is an enhancement bonus.

I don't see how this is rellavent to the discusion, no one has said otherwise. But if you're refering to the master work properties, as said the OA faq has said they stack. And nothing in the DMG says they don't stack.

After re-reading the paragraphs a few times, I think this is definitely one of the areas that needs revision in 3.5. A clear and precise sentence structure to lessen the confusion.

I think its clear enough, but perhaps it could be clearified.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

We've always played it as anything made of Mithral or Adamantine had to be made masterwork just like any other material would. And the masterwork, and mithral bonuses have always stacked in all groups I've ever gamed with. Seems pretty clear what the intent of the rule was, but maybe they clarify it in the 3.5 revision, since they have clarified it in the FAQ.
 

Well all proof, especially several posts from Monte's forum, show that Mithral and Adamantine items are automatically masterwork. This is made clear by all sources except for the OA FAQ, which I might add is NOT official errata, does NOT stand in any core game, and is NOT part of the core rules. Thus, the OA FAQ can not be used for this discussion as it does not change or clarify core rules.

Anyway, the book says they're masterwork items, the creators say they're masterwork items . . . You can really argue in light of those facts now can you? To say they must be made masterwork is a house rule, plain and simple.
 

Anubis said:
Anyway, the book says they're masterwork items, the creators say they're masterwork items . . . You can really argue in light of those facts now can you? To say they must be made masterwork is a house rule, plain and simple.

Can you please explain where the extra 150 gp for the adamantine shield come from? Thanks
 

Anubis said:
Anyway, the book says they're masterwork items,

That's the problem, NO, it does NOT say they are masterwork items. You're just interpreting it to take it that way.

You also state "several people on monte's boards", well, did MONTE HIMSELF say that they *where* MW items? If so, please show me where. If it's just a bunch of posters, that's the same thing here man. You say the creators said they where, please show me where this is said. I'd just like to see the proof is all. Like I said earlier, it's a very shoddily written passage that can be taken different ways.

::shrugs::
 

hammymchamham said:


Can you please explain where the extra 150 gp for the adamantine shield come from? Thanks

It's called a typo.

Considering that's the ONLY item to include that out of every book thus far released, that must be the error.

Plus, the book DOES say SOMEWHERE that these items are already considered masterwork as you can't have a normal Adamantine or Mithral item. I simply can't find the page at the moment. Believe me, I'm trying. I KNOW I read that in there though when I first had this question.
 

Actually,

Adamantine Breastplate is paying extra +150 gp for MW
Dwarven Plate is not paying extra cost for MW
Elven Chain is not paying extra cost for MW
Mithral Shirt is not paying extra cost for MW
Adamantine Battleaxe is paying extra +300 gp for MW
Adamantine Dagger is paying extra +300 gp for MW
 

The passage saying "treated as masterwork with regard to creation time" in the DMG is intended to let you know you should use MW creation times for mithral & adamantite items instead of creation times based on their value. Thus, making a mithril breastplate takes as long as making a masterwork breastplate.

Furthermore, mithril and adamantite items are not by default able to be enhanced in the rules as written. The rules specifically say "treated as masterwork with regard to creation times" - not in any other way. "Treated as masterwork in case X" does not mean "are automatically masterwork in all cases".

I, too, assumed that mithril and adamantite items were automatically masterwork, until I found that PCGen did not handle it that way, and I went on a search for the correct rules. Much to my surprise, I could find nothing that implied that mithril and adamantite items were automatically masterwork.

Oh, and Anubis: simply SAYING something in ALL CAPS does not make it TRUE. If you want people to believe you, provide evidence.

J
 

Anubis said:


It's called a typo.

Considering that's the ONLY item to include that out of every book thus far released, that must be the error.

Plus, the book DOES say SOMEWHERE that these items are already considered masterwork as you can't have a normal Adamantine or Mithral item. I simply can't find the page at the moment. Believe me, I'm trying. I KNOW I read that in there though when I first had this question.

SOMWHERE? Where? You KNOW? Where?

If its a type, where is the errata or Faq?

As said, some items have it, others don't. If some have it, it provides evidence you CAN have a masterwork item of Adamantine or Mithral
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top