Question About Rat Swarm

bardolph

First Post
Does the ongoing damage from "Swarm of Teeth" stack with itself? If the rats hit multiple times, does this require the PC to make multiple saves per turn?

If yes, all I can say is ouch.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Does the ongoing damage from "Swarm of Teeth" stack with itself? If the rats hit multiple times, does this require the PC to make multiple saves per turn?

If yes, all I can say is ouch.

Ongoing damage doesnt stack with itself, or any similar ongoing damage as per page 278 of the PHB.
 

Does the ongoing damage from "Swarm of Teeth" stack with itself? If the rats hit multiple times, does this require the PC to make multiple saves per turn?

If yes, all I can say is ouch.

Players Handbook pg. 278: Ongoing Damage

"If effects deal ongoing damage of the same type, or if the damage has no type, only the higher applies."

So, no it does not stack with itself.

Edit: Ninja'd!!!
 
Last edited:


While only the higher applies, where does it say that you don't need to save against each application?

That is to say, if someone is hit twice, at the start of their turn they take their damage, end of their turn, succeed at one save, would fail a second save if they had to make one... are you saying the first save gets rid of all ongoing damage and/or the second never even goes on? (Cite?)
 

While only the higher applies, where does it say that you don't need to save against each application?

That is to say, if someone is hit twice, at the start of their turn they take their damage, end of their turn, succeed at one save, would fail a second save if they had to make one... are you saying the first save gets rid of all ongoing damage and/or the second never even goes on? (Cite?)

Its implied from page 278, but not explicit: "You make a separate saving throw against each damage type." If you had to save against each application, I think that it would have said so instead of the above.
 

Yeah, since you save against each damage type, not each attack, I would say you only make one save. I had a situation where a player in my campaign was taking ongoing damage of no type and ongoing poison when he took another shot that gave him more ongoing poison. He still only had to make 2 saves, since each passed save eliminates one type of damage.

At least, that's how I interpretted the rules.
 

Remove ads

Top