Elrok
First Post
I would like to transfer the properties from my Scepter of Bane +1 (Mace) to a LongBow instead. I understand that melee properties cannot be moved to a ranged weapon, but the mace does not really have any powers that would be limited to melee weapons. Would this work under 'official' rules?
Transfer Enhantment Ritual Text:
You transfer the magical qualities (properties, powers, and enhancement bonus) of an enchanted item into another object. You must maintain physical contact with both items for the duration of the ritual. (1)The receiving item must occupy the same magic item slot (head, waist, armor, and so on) and (2) be the same type (wand, rod, weapon, and so on) as the original item. The (3)enchantment to be moved must be valid for the receiving item, so that you cannot transfer ranged weapon properties to melee weapons, cloth-only armor properties to chainmail, and so on.
You can transfer an enchantment to an item that already contains a lower-level enchantment, but the receiving item’s previous magic is lost. For example, the enhancement bonus and power of a suit of +1 barkskin hide (5th level) could be placed into a suit of +1 curseforged scale (3rd level), but the scale armor’s existing power is lost in doing so. You cannot transfer an enchantment to an item that already has a higher-level enchantment
(1)Check. both are weapons and use the same slot
(2)Check. both same type: weapon
(3)This is not as clear, but i think they are saying that you can transfer properties between cloth-to-plate or melee-to-ranged as long as the property would also be allowed on the receiving item. For example there is a melee weapon (Fey strike or something) that launches a single copy of it's self once an encounter at an enemy.... this power would not make sense to transfer to a ranged weapon, etc.
Scepter of Bane
Level: 4
Price: 840 gp
Weapon: Mace
Enhancement: +1 attack rolls and damage rolls
Critical: +1d12 when used as a weapon, or +1d8 when used as a holy symbol
Property: The scepter of Bane can be used as a holy symbol.
Power (Daily): Free Action. Trigger: You score a critical hit against a target while using the scepter of Bane. Effect: You do not deal the extra damage for scoring a critical hit, but instead you dominate the target until the end of your next turn.
Turns into Longbow of Bane ? Does not seem that any of the properties are 'ranged' only properties.
Any idea? Would be great to use a longbow as holy symbol on my elf cleric/ranger hybrid.
Thanks for your help!
You transfer the magical qualities (properties, powers, and enhancement bonus) of an enchanted item into another object. You must maintain physical contact with both items for the duration of the ritual. (1)The receiving item must occupy the same magic item slot (head, waist, armor, and so on) and (2) be the same type (wand, rod, weapon, and so on) as the original item. The (3)enchantment to be moved must be valid for the receiving item, so that you cannot transfer ranged weapon properties to melee weapons, cloth-only armor properties to chainmail, and so on.
You can transfer an enchantment to an item that already contains a lower-level enchantment, but the receiving item’s previous magic is lost. For example, the enhancement bonus and power of a suit of +1 barkskin hide (5th level) could be placed into a suit of +1 curseforged scale (3rd level), but the scale armor’s existing power is lost in doing so. You cannot transfer an enchantment to an item that already has a higher-level enchantment
(1)Check. both are weapons and use the same slot
(2)Check. both same type: weapon
(3)This is not as clear, but i think they are saying that you can transfer properties between cloth-to-plate or melee-to-ranged as long as the property would also be allowed on the receiving item. For example there is a melee weapon (Fey strike or something) that launches a single copy of it's self once an encounter at an enemy.... this power would not make sense to transfer to a ranged weapon, etc.
Scepter of Bane
Level: 4
Price: 840 gp
Weapon: Mace
Enhancement: +1 attack rolls and damage rolls
Critical: +1d12 when used as a weapon, or +1d8 when used as a holy symbol
Property: The scepter of Bane can be used as a holy symbol.
Power (Daily): Free Action. Trigger: You score a critical hit against a target while using the scepter of Bane. Effect: You do not deal the extra damage for scoring a critical hit, but instead you dominate the target until the end of your next turn.
Turns into Longbow of Bane ? Does not seem that any of the properties are 'ranged' only properties.
Any idea? Would be great to use a longbow as holy symbol on my elf cleric/ranger hybrid.

Thanks for your help!