Question about Tumbling

Zonemaster

First Post
Hello All,
I'm a DM confused about the Tumbling Skill and the DC's listed in the PHB 3.5.

Here's the scenario: A PC Monk is trying to tumble past two baddies who have
blocked the 10' wide corridor, 10' in front of the monk. The Monk claims he only
has to roll once at DC25 to tumble past one of the baddies to attempt to avoid
ALL AoO's. I claim he has to roll twice --- Once at DC25 to get through Baddie #1
and once at DC15 to get past Baddie #2. The rules seem confusing at this point when
they state that you must make a separate tumble check for each opponent, but then
state that a success means you avoid all AoO's. Which is it ?

I have interpreted this rule to mean that if a single opponent has multiple AoO's
(maybe through Combat Reflexes, etc.), a tumbler would avoid all of them from
a single opponent with a single successful roll, but must still roll separately for each
opponent they are trying to tumble past/through.

Given the situation above, do I or don't I apply the +2 DC penalty and to which rolls.

Thanks,
Z.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Zonemaster said:
Hello All,
I'm a DM confused about the Tumbling Skill and the DC's listed in the PHB 3.5.

Here's the scenario: A PC Monk is trying to tumble past two baddies who have
blocked the 10' wide corridor, 10' in front of the monk. The Monk claims he only
has to roll once at DC25 to tumble past one of the baddies to attempt to avoid
ALL AoO's. I claim he has to roll twice --- Once at DC25 to get through Baddie #1
and once at DC15 to get past Baddie #2. The rules seem confusing at this point when
they state that you must make a separate tumble check for each opponent, but then
state that a success means you avoid all AoO's. Which is it ?

I have interpreted this rule to mean that if a single opponent has multiple AoO's
(maybe through Combat Reflexes, etc.), a tumbler would avoid all of them from
a single opponent with a single successful roll, but must still roll separately for each
opponent they are trying to tumble past/through.

Given the situation above, do I or don't I apply the +2 DC penalty and to which rolls.

Thanks,
Z.

The table on page 84 of the PHB states the following:

DC 15: "Check separately for each opponent you move past..."

DC 25: "Check separately for each opponent."

So..... You make one check at DC 25 to go through an opponent and you make a second check at DC 15 to move past the second opponent.
 



That's how I saw it.

I figured to have the monk make a DC25 check first, because if he fails that,
the 2nd check would be unneccessary. The 2nd check would be at DC17
to move past the 2nd baddie.

Now what if one of the baddies had reach ?

I figure a DC15 to move past that guy and either a DC25 or DC27 to
move through the 2nd guy. (which should it be?) or a DC25 to move thru
the guy with reach and then a DC17 roll to move past the guy w/o reach.

Does this make sense ?

Does anyone see an opportunity for one of the bad guys to hit the other
as in the cave troll scene in LOTR I when orcs were getting slammed too ?

Z.
 

Zonemaster said:
That's how I saw it.

I figured to have the monk make a DC25 check first, because if he fails that,
the 2nd check would be unneccessary. The 2nd check would be at DC17
to move past the 2nd baddie.

Now what if one of the baddies had reach ?

I figure a DC15 to move past that guy and either a DC25 or DC27 to
move through the 2nd guy. (which should it be?) or a DC25 to move thru
the guy with reach and then a DC17 roll to move past the guy w/o reach.

Does this make sense ?

Does anyone see an opportunity for one of the bad guys to hit the other
as in the cave troll scene in LOTR I when orcs were getting slammed too ?

Z.

I don't think the DC should be 17 for the baddie he's trying to roll past. He's rolling through one, so it's a DC of 25. He's only trying to roll past one baddie, so the DC should be 15.
 

I agree with reveal that you don't add up the +2 for the different actions. One's DC 25 and the other is DC 15. The order in which you roll depends on the order in which they occur. If the order in which they occur cannot be determined (either at the same time or you don't know), then the player chooses. Note that if they do in fact occur at the same time, you MUST roll both. Even if he fails the DC 25, for example, he might still provoke an AoO from the other guy.

So, if neither opponent has reach, or if they both do, then he provokes an AoO from both at the same time, and the player decides which he wants to roll first. Should you choose to add in the +2 modifier, obviously the PC will roll the DC 25 first and the DC 17 second. If one has reach, he would roll that one first, so the PC would most likely choose to roll through the opponent with reach (unless he is withdrawing perhaps).
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top