Question on Monster Attacks

Looking at the rules again, I see that the last sentence in the second to last para. says (regarding standard attacks): "...it uses its primary attack BONUS." It makes no reference to any specific weapon here. But...what is the point to labeling the 2 claws (in our example) as primary, and the bite secondary. In your example, the DM can choose whatever weapon it wants to be primary or secondary. What am I missing here?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

But...what is the point to labeling the 2 claws (in our example) as primary, and the bite secondary. In your example, the DM can choose whatever weapon it wants to be primary or secondary. What am I missing here?

My understanding is that when used in a full attack, the claws are always primary, but when used individually, it can choose.

I'm not going to declare that authoritative - but that's how I'm given to understand that it works.

-Hyp.
 

I see what ya mean. I think we mau be reading this into the text however. As it reads I would say that full attack or not, the claws would always be the primary weapon for the creature, not the bite. Worth lookin at more and doing what ya feel works. I'll try and get an official word on this.

Anyway, thanks for the feedback so far Hyp (et al)

--Kurt (who has been thinking too much about claws ;)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top