Question on Tactics (Thunderspire Spoilers)


log in or register to remove this ad

Do the monsters in question fly? Otherwise, I can't see them being able to bull rush someone who is a full square off the ground.

Doesn't matter. The square is still adjacent, and thus they are able to Bull Rush. It could be a large creature, a flying creature, or a medium creature doing a stylized leaping snap kick...the PC is adjacent, and thus able to be 'Rushed.
 

Another side question: What's to stop the PCs (or the large creature) from dumping the cauldron over? Would you allow the large creature to pick up the PC and drop them into one of the cauldron without a save (assuming a successful grab attack and moving a grabbed opponent)?

Edited to add:
I don't like being able to Bull Rush a hanging opponent just because that square is adjacent. By that logic, if I have a power that push a target I should be able to throw them up into the air as many squares as I can push them and that is obviously not the intent (and maybe expressly against the rules).
 

Another side question: What's to stop the PCs (or the large creature) from dumping the cauldron over? Would you allow the large creature to pick up the PC and drop them into one of the cauldron without a save (assuming a successful grab attack and moving a grabbed opponent)?

Moving a grabbed creature is a pull, pulling is forced movement, so yes they get a save.
 


Another side question: What's to stop the PCs (or the large creature) from dumping the cauldron over? Would you allow the large creature to pick up the PC and drop them into one of the cauldron without a save (assuming a successful grab attack and moving a grabbed opponent)?

Edited to add:
I don't like being able to Bull Rush a hanging opponent just because that square is adjacent. By that logic, if I have a power that push a target I should be able to throw them up into the air as many squares as I can push them and that is obviously not the intent (and maybe expressly against the rules).

It's important to note that forced movement cannot move a creature vertically. See page 285 of the PHB under "Forced Movement".

"Distance in Squares: The power you’re using specifies
how many squares you can move a target. You
can choose to move the target fewer squares or not
to move it at all. You can’t move the target vertically."

This tactic is deadly and entirely legit.
 

Remove ads

Top