Question re Dailys

brunswick

First Post
Hi folks,

Apologies if this has been addressed in another thread but I'm curious about Daily powers.

I know that a 5th level character can use one 1st level Daily Power and one 5th level Daily Power.

Say the character chooses a 1st Level Daily at 1st Level and then chooses a 5th Level Daily at 5th Level. If that character retrains at 6th Level and chooses to retrain his 5th level Daily for a 1st Level Daily (i.e. of the same level or lower), how does he then have access to a 1st Level Daily and a 5th Level Daily? Can he use 2 1st level Dailys instead of 1 1st and a 1 5th Level?

The answer is possibly blindingly obvious but I'm puzzled by it.

Cheers,


Bruns. :)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

think of it as slots, at first level you can have one daily power from the first level power pool, at 5th level you get another slot but now you can choose from the 1st or 5th level list of powers.
 

Say the character chooses a 1st Level Daily at 1st Level and then chooses a 5th Level Daily at 5th Level. If that character retrains at 6th Level and chooses to retrain his 5th level Daily for a 1st Level Daily (i.e. of the same level or lower), how does he then have access to a 1st Level Daily and a 5th Level Daily?
If you retrain your 5th level daily to take a 1st level daily (which must, BTW, be different from the one you chose at 1st level), you now have two (different) 1st-level dailies that you can use, once each per day. You could later retrain the 1st level daily you chose at 6th back to the original 5th level one, or to a different 5th or 1st level daily. You could retrain your original 1st-level daily to a different 1st level daily. In no case could you have the same power 'twice.'
 
Last edited:


If you retrain your 5th level daily to take a 1st level daily (which must, BTW, be different from the one you chose at 1st level), you now have two (different) 1st-level dailies that you can use, once each per day. You could later retrain the 5th level daily back to the original 5th level one, or to a different 5th or 1st level daily. You could retrain the 1st-level daily to a different 1st level daily. In no case could you have the same power 'twice.'
The Mage's Spellbook states: You cannot prepare more than one encounter attack power, daily attack power, or utility power of any given level on the same day.

The Bladesinger Spellbook states: You cannot prepare more than one attack power and one utility power of any given level on the same day.

The Arcanist states: You can’t prepare the same spell twice.

I think Tony's answer is good for the rules as intended (or RAW for Arcanists). If you have a DM that's a stickler for RAW, these are what you're going to have to go with. A Mage or Bladesinger will be restricted to one spell per level. That means that Mages and Bladesingers who retrain high-level spells to lower level spells (like retraining a level 5 spell to a level 1 spell) will not be able to memorize the new 1st-level spell with any other 1st-level spells learned at level 1.

The Arcanist's sole restriction is not being able to memorize the same spell twice. So, at level 9 with Expanded Spellbook, he is able to memorize three level 9 daily attack spells.

And this is why RAW isn't always the best measuring stick to go by. It's also why Wizards of the Coast needs better editing.
 


The OP clearly wasn't asking about a class with a spellbook feature.

This. Such classes are exceptions.

Yes you can have two level 1 daily powers, so long as you don't have a class that forbids it. You don't even need to retrain.

And yes, the books're clear on that, stating you can train lower level powers if you like.
 

Hi folks,

Apologies if this has been addressed in another thread but I'm curious about Daily powers.

I know that a 5th level character can use one 1st level Daily Power and one 5th level Daily Power.

Say the character chooses a 1st Level Daily at 1st Level and then chooses a 5th Level Daily at 5th Level. If that character retrains at 6th Level and chooses to retrain his 5th level Daily for a 1st Level Daily (i.e. of the same level or lower), how does he then have access to a 1st Level Daily and a 5th Level Daily? Can he use 2 1st level Dailys instead of 1 1st and a 1 5th Level?

The answer is possibly blindingly obvious but I'm puzzled by it.

Cheers,


Bruns. :)

I read your question a few times and not sure if I got the gist of it but here goes

If you are asking "If a character has a Daily power that they retrain at Level Up but that Level Up doesnt occur at an Extended Rest, can that character retrain and gain use of that Daily or will he need to take an Extended Rest"

Answer : If your DM has allowed you to level up without the need of an Extended Rest, no, you cant swap out a Daily and get it back - its like have a gun with one bullet, if you only get new bullets at each Extended Rest, swapping out the gun doesn't get you a fresh bullet, just a different piece of metal

If you are asking "If a character has a higher level Daily power that they retrain to a lower level Daily power, can they use that lower level Daily power even though it may involve them having 2 Daily powers of the same level"

Answer : Yes, it isnt the fact that the Daily Power is of a certain level that restricts you, it is the Level of your character. If the PC is of a level that allows him to use 2 dailies, it doesnt matter what level those Dailies as long as they are of his level or lower. Also he can only use one daily power once per day, regardless of level or other dailies he has.
 

I think I went to the wizard because that's where the usual confusion stems from. Also, it was late. Just to reiterate, for most classes, if you have a daily power available, then you can use it, no matter the level.

Spellbooks bring a level of restriction to that, but it's not one you need to worry about unless you have that feature.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top