Hello!
I have a question regarding Improved Grab and Wyverns. I just need some clarification on the language used as the entry on Improved Grab for Wyverns is not as clear as it is in other monsters.
Alright, from the SRD:
"Improved Grab (Ex): To use this ability, a wyvern must hit with its talons. It can then attempt to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. If it wins the grapple check, it establishes a hold and stings." (emphasis mine)
This may seem completely obvious, so just smack me with a trout if it is. According to the entry, the Wyvern needs to hit with its "Talons", I see that it refers to the plural, but it doesnt say if it needs to hit with both in the same round. The reason I bring this up is because some other monsters have explicit numeric attack requirements in order to achieve an improved grab. For example an Otyugh needs to hit with "a" tentacle attack or a Chull needs to hit with "a" claw attack.
Thus, can a wyvern simply start an improved grab by hitting with one talon ... or both? If its both, then it sort of defeats the purpose of explaining its preferred mode of attack as: (from the SRD) "A wyvern dives from the air, snatching the opponent with its talons and stinging it to death ..." Cant make two attacks when diving ...
This is probably a classic case of ME interpreting flavor text as rules but I just wanted to make sure with all you gurus.
My thanks in advance,
I have a question regarding Improved Grab and Wyverns. I just need some clarification on the language used as the entry on Improved Grab for Wyverns is not as clear as it is in other monsters.
Alright, from the SRD:
"Improved Grab (Ex): To use this ability, a wyvern must hit with its talons. It can then attempt to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. If it wins the grapple check, it establishes a hold and stings." (emphasis mine)
This may seem completely obvious, so just smack me with a trout if it is. According to the entry, the Wyvern needs to hit with its "Talons", I see that it refers to the plural, but it doesnt say if it needs to hit with both in the same round. The reason I bring this up is because some other monsters have explicit numeric attack requirements in order to achieve an improved grab. For example an Otyugh needs to hit with "a" tentacle attack or a Chull needs to hit with "a" claw attack.
Thus, can a wyvern simply start an improved grab by hitting with one talon ... or both? If its both, then it sort of defeats the purpose of explaining its preferred mode of attack as: (from the SRD) "A wyvern dives from the air, snatching the opponent with its talons and stinging it to death ..." Cant make two attacks when diving ...
This is probably a classic case of ME interpreting flavor text as rules but I just wanted to make sure with all you gurus.
My thanks in advance,