Question


log in or register to remove this ad

Since the spellbook isn't a magic item per se and doesn't have any particular powers, no.

If it was still possible to cast spells from a spellbook as if they were spells from scrolls, then, yes, but since it isn't, no.

AR
 

That is correct. There are actually no rules for a Wizard to cast spells out of a spellbook. There are rules for him to preapre spells out of a spellbook and then cast them, but not directly cast froma spellbook.
 

I thought it said somewhere that spells in a spellbook were treated as scrolls. I think it was in the parts about scribing spells into a spell book.

I mean that would be awesome. A rogue with a stolen spellbook where he is running around casting the spells out of it. Thats one you can throw on the players... Very Cugel-esque.

Aaron.
 

I would say no. A lot of this is probably GM fiat rather than RAW, but what I read the spellbooks as is like a cookbook. It tells you how to bend the forces of magic to your will, what processes, and forces are involved. A scroll, on the other hand, is like a microwave dinner. Most of the work has been done for you, by the person who knows what they're doing. The forces have already been manipulated on your behalf (scrolls use creator caster level, not yours, after all.)

Thus, if you don't have even the slightest bit of cooking (or magical) ability, the book won't do you any good, because you simply can't control those forces.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top