Questions about Dark Sun Mul Incredible Toughness

zoroaster100

First Post
The mul race in Dark Sun gets the racial encounter power Incredible Toughness. It is a "no action" encounter power with a trigger of "You start your turn." The effect is that you end any ongoing damage or any dazed, slowed, stunned, or weakened condition currently affecting you.

There are two points on which I'm not clear. It seems clear that you get to either end ongoing damage OR end any of those conditions. But what I'm not 100% sure about is whether ending "any" such condition means you get to and ANY AND ALL all such conditions currently affecting you, or whether you just get to pick one such condition to end it.

The second thing I'm not 100% sure about is that, the way I read the power, I think it allows you to end the ongoing damage before it has a chance to affect you that turn, so when you start your turn, you don't take the ongoing damage. Otherwise I think it would read the trigger is "you take ongoing damage" if you were meant to take the damage at least once. But I wanted to get other opinions as to whether I'm reading the power right. What do you think?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The effect is that you end any ongoing damage or any dazed, slowed, stunned, or weakened condition currently affecting you.

I would read that as an exclusive or, pick one, not both. I would assume they would pick the word 'and' instead of 'or' otherwise (EDIT: which you said was clear but I guess I missed that part the first time through). Additionally, in the flavor text it says you "shrug off an effect", take that for what its worth I guess.

Hope that helps.:)

EDIT: I mixed up taking damage from ongoing and taking a saving throw for ongoing. I still think the interpretation is correct, but I'm less positive about it now.
 
Last edited:

I do think if you have ongoing damage and conditions affecting you, you have to pick whether to stop the ongoing damage or the condition(s). But if you pick the latter, and you have several of those conditions affecting you, I'm not sure if you can end all the conditions or just one.
 

Sorry, I should have read a little more carefully!

I would assume it means one condition. I mentioned previously the flavor text, which refers to shrugging off a single effect. While flavor text, isn't exactly something that should be used to make a rule calling, I think its not too big of a jump to say that the intentions were to make the power stop just one condition.
 

ANY does not equal ALL

"Any" is singular, it refers to one. It can be used in a generic sense to be one picked at random ("anyone would know", which implies "everyone knows") but it still refers to a single instance. Otherwise it would have said
"...or all dazed, slowed, stunned, and weakened conditions currently affecting you."

For the ongoing damage, I think you end it before it takes effect. And I think it's a single instance of ongoing. So if you have ongoing 10 damage and ongoing 5 fire, you can end one or the other, not both. Because, again, "any" is not the same as "all".
 
Last edited:


On the Dark Sun Encounters Mul character sheet, the power reads, "When you start your turn, you may end any ongoing damage or any one dazed, slowed, stunned, or weakened condition affecting you" (emphasis added)

Which I interpret as "any (and all) ongoing damage" or one of the listed conditions.
 

On the Dark Sun Encounters Mul character sheet, the power reads, "When you start your turn, you may end any ongoing damage or any one dazed, slowed, stunned, or weakened condition affecting you" (emphasis added)
Thanks. That's further proof that any really means 'one or more', otherwise it wouldn't have been required to write 'any one'. Only by adding the word one does it become unambigous.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top