D&D 4E Questions about move and attack - and my newfound disappointment with 4E reach

Ricochet

Explorer
Having read and re-read the combat chapter in the PHB, I am left confused as to what happens if something interrupts a move using a move action.

Example:

A character with movement 6 want to move in and attack an Ettin 3 squares away. He declares that he will use his move action to move to the Ettin and attack it. Now the Ettin gets an OA because of reach. Assuming the attack hits, its special ability is, that is pushes the target one square back!

Will this result in

A) The character is assumed to still be in his "move action" despite whatever interrupted it. He has only moved 2 squares, and can just walk right back up to the Ettin using his remaining "square allotment".

B) The character had called his move, which was within his movement range, and has been interrupted. The move action is spent. He can chose to use his standard action to move up to the Ettin once more.

As a GM, and from a mechanics standpoint (as well as for excitement!) I would go with B, but is that the intention? If it is A, it makes push-back-defenses like the Ettin's somewhat useless unless the character is exactly in range, and thus can't re-run up to it after the push. This seems very weak and, well, not too challenging then.

So.. Anyone know how we are -supposed- to play this? I will probably play it like B regardless, but I'd love to be right about it as well.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

ParagonofVirtue said:
Anyone know how we are -supposed- to play this?

Yes.

You're supposed to play this in whatever manner is the most fun for the players.

That said, I believe A is correct.

[edit] Ettin's don't have threatening reach, so they don't get OAs as you close due to reach, but that's not the real point of your question.
 
Last edited:

Yeah, but I have a hard time finding the ruling to sway me fully to its "correctness".

That said, B is definitely the more fun approach for both the players and me. (my players won't whine about it, they'll be surprised and good-type-of-angry wanting to kill the Ettin even more hehe).
 

OAs Interrupt.

After the OA the target "resumes its action" if it can (i.e. isn't dead, or whatever).

The action was to close to melee range and attack.

If the PC still has movement, it should be able close to melee range and attack.
 

Mort_Q said:
[edit] Ettin's don't have threatening reach, so they don't get OAs as you close due to reach, but that's not the real point of your question.

Explain this to me please? It clearly states "Reach: 2" in its entry in the Monster Manual. *confused*
 

ParagonofVirtue said:
Explain this to me please? It clearly states "Reach: 2" in its entry in the Monster Manual. *confused*

4e Reach doesn't work the same as 3e Reach.

see PH 217, Reach, under weapon properties.
see PH 290, Threatening Reach, under opportunity attacks.
 



ParagonofVirtue said:
Explain this to me please? It clearly states "Reach: 2" in its entry in the Monster Manual. *confused*

Reach doesn't necessarily confer the ability to take OA's at reach. That's what "threatening reach" does.

He can hit the cleric who's standing behind the fighter, but can't do anything if the cleric moves away from standing behind the fighter.

Granted, I'd still go with A if it had threatening reach. The part where you get conniving and evil is, you use your square of push to put the player someplace where resuming his movement will provoke another attack (from a different creature) that he hadn't planned on.
 

That... is so boring :(

Ah well, thanks for clarifying. And I found the "resume action" bit on the same page (290), so all "rules rightness" is hereby sorted (until the next questions comes along).

Its so dull though, but I guess we'll work through it.

Thanks again.
 

Remove ads

Top