Quickened spell-like ability and immediate action spells

brianfitz

First Post
The 3.5 SRD states that a quickened spell-like ability (under monster feats) is a free action. In another place it is stated that casting a quickened spell is a swift action. Are both of these statements correct or is a quickened spell-like ability actually a swift action?

Second question is can I move 10', cast an immediate action spell, and move another 20' and attack a target in melee, provided my movement rate is 30'?

Thanks in advance for the answers.

Brian
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

I believe that Quickened spells & SLA's were retconned to be Swift actions when the Swift action was defined and published (in Complete Arcane I think?) so you couldn't use both a Quickened SLA and an Immediate spell in the same round.

2nd: Yes. That works just fine.
 

Pyrex said:
I believe that Quickened spells & SLA's were retconned to be Swift actions when the Swift action was defined and published (in Complete Arcane I think?) so you couldn't use both a Quickened SLA and an Immediate spell in the same round.

Swift actions initially appeared in the Miniatures Handbook. You're right, though, about the Quickened Spell rule being in Complete Arcane (p86 in the sidebar). It's a swift action, and you're only allowed one swift action per round.

Pinotage
 

Spell Compendium pg 4 also inserted the swift action rules.

Quickened spells are now swift action casting times and feather fall is an immediate action.
 

Remove ads

Top