D&D 5E (2024) Ranged Builds Thread


log in or register to remove this ad

Dang.
Why word CBE like that if the ammunition property ducks it up again?

IMO not sure.

2014 had a weird loophole where you could bonus action attack while holding a single hand crossbow by RAW. But without that it appears there’s little reason to dual wield anything and a hand crossbow.
 

I read it again and CBE expert says:
"You ignore the loading property of the Hand crossbow, heavy crossbow and light crossbow (...)."
So I ignore the loading property that would otherwise limit me to one attack per round.
"If you are holding one of them, you can load a piece of ammunition into it even if you lack a free hand."
So I do not need a second free hand. Ergo: Dual hand-crossbow-party-time!
 


Here’s the relevant line from the ammunition property

From Roll20
“Drawing the ammunition is part of the attack (you need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon)”

All the loading property does is

From Roll20
“You can fire only one piece of ammunition from a Loading weapon when you use an action, a Bonus Action, or a Reaction to fire it, regardless of the number of attacks you can normally make.”

Note: the only thing the CBE feat lets you ignore is the loading property and not the ammunition property.
 

No. CBE does two things.
It let's you ignore the loading property with this sentence:
"You ignore the loading property of the Hand crossbow, heavy crossbow and light crossbow (...)."
So I ignore the loading propert. Just like you said. The loading property restricts the amount of attacks per turn.

The next line of CBE says:
"If you are holding one of them, you can load a piece of ammunition into it even if you lack a free hand."
And that let's me ignore the part of the ammunition rules that says I need a free hand.

Seems clear to me.
 

Note that it does not say that I ignore the ammunition property, because that would mean conjuring ammunition out of thin air.
So it 'only' says that I can load a piece of ammunition without needing a free hand.
 

No. CBE does two things.
It let's you ignore the loading property with this sentence:
"You ignore the loading property of the Hand crossbow, heavy crossbow and light crossbow (...)."
So I ignore the loading propert. Just like you said. The loading property restricts the amount of attacks per turn.

The next line of CBE says:
"If you are holding one of them, you can load a piece of ammunition into it even if you lack a free hand."
And that let's me ignore the part of the ammunition rules that says I need a free hand.

Seems clear to me.

You’ve convinced me.
 


Remove ads

Top