Reactive Counterspell

lupo

First Post
Does anyone have a take on how the Reactive Counterspell feat should be played? The description in the FRCS is very vague.

Do you need to have not taken your turn in the round?

Do you need to have an action delayed?

Can you use a quickened spell?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No, no, yes. At least as I read it.

Scenario 1: Mage with Reactive Counterspelling (MRC) vs Mage Opponent. Init order: MRC 18, MO 12.

Turn 1
18: MRC: Casts Spell.
12: MO: Casts Spell.
12: MRC: uses Reactive Counterspell.

Turn 2
18: MRC: Loses action this turn due to RC use. May use Quickened Spell or use MEA.
12: MO: Casts Spell.
12: MRC: uses Reactive Counterspell.

Turn 3
18: MRC: Loses action as before.

Reactive Counterspell does not require you to ready an action to counterspell (as the text clearly states) or delay your action to an appropriate time.. It does not require you to do nothing else during your round or retroactively change what you did earlier in the initiative order to reflect your actions. You simply lose a single casting action in the next round to reflect you doing it ahead of schedule when casting the counterspell.

While this seems powerful, Reactive Counterspell is the end of a 3 feat chain that gives a benefit to a caster only under very specific conditions.

Of course, that's just my interpretation of the feat as written.
 

lupo said:
Does anyone have a take on how the Reactive Counterspell feat should be played? The description in the FRCS is very vague.

This is how I understand it. I'll try to sum it up for you...

You don't have to ready an action to counterspell anymore. For example, if you have not acted yet in the round, and I cast a spell, you can immediately attempt a counterspell without needing to ready an action. This uses up your action for the round, so when it is your turn (assume you're right after me), you can only take a normal move or take a 5-foot step. If you have already acted for the round, and I cast a spell (assume you go right before me and you have already taken your turn), you can still attempt a counterspell, but it uses up your action for the next round. During your next round, you can only take a normal move or take a 5-foot step.

lupo said:
Do you need to have not taken your turn in the round?

Nope.

lupo said:
Do you need to have an action delayed?

Nope.

lupo said:
Can you use a quickened spell?

You could, but IMO, it would be a waste. If that's all you have though, it might still be worth it.

lupo said:
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Hope that helps.
 

I understand the idea that you do not need to ready an action, but from what you are saying, I can counter a spell any time that I want, it just costs me my next action, either this rounds if I have not gone yet, or next rounds if I have.

This inspires two more questions:

1. How does this work with Haste

2. Can I stack this over and over, meaning, can I counter 5 spells in one round and then not have any other actions for 5 rounds into the future?
 

lupo said:
...I can counter a spell any time that I want...

Pretty much, but only once per round.

lupo said:
1. How does this work with Haste

You would still get your extra partial action from Haste, but you can only use the feat once per round. Basically, if you're hasted, you still have a move left and a partial action left.

lupo said:
2. Can I stack this over and over, meaning, can I counter 5 spells in one round and then not have any other actions for 5 rounds into the future?

No. The feat specifically states it can only be used once per round. Also, you can't use this feat when you're flat-footed.
 

From the FAQ:

The Reactive Counterspell feat from Magic of Faerûn lets
you use the counterspell action without a readied action.
Does that mean I have to use the delay action instead? If my
character takes no action in the round, can he take a
counterspell action prior to his original initiative score?
What happens to my initiative score if I use a counterspell
before it™s my turn? Can I use a Reactive Counterspell
when I™m flat-footed?

If you have the Reactive Counterspell feat, you can use a
counterspell almost anytime. You cannot use Reactive
Counterspell when flat-footed. You can use the feat before your
turn in the initiative order (when you have not yet acted for the
turn) or after your turn (when you have already acted during the
turn). In either case, you lose your next action.

IceBear
 


With Haste, this feat becomes very powerful since you have the ability to counter & cast in the same round thanks to the extra partial action. However, as clark411 mentioned, it's part of a 3-feat chain and you can only use it once per round. Multiple spellcasting opponents can still make life very difficult.

An excellent feat for any wizard who likes to take on other spellcasters.
 


Remove ads

Top