Readied Action vs Readied Action


log in or register to remove this ad


Infiniti2000 said:
The only problem I'm having with this whole thing is wondering how in the world do you pronounce Xaxos.

In a world where names such as Tim and Bob are common, I too have to wonder where Xaxos came from...
 

Hypersmurf said:
In case B, the actions are resolved Xaxos, Tim, Bob. Bob's action triggers Tim's action, Tim's action triggers Xaxos' action. No problem.
I agree.

Hypersmurf said:
In case A, we have a problem, because Bob's action triggers both Tim's and Xaxos' actions. In this case, I would not require a separate initiative roll - the 'roll' has been determined by the rules of Ready (just before Bob's initiative). So rather, I'd use the rule for resolving a tie - not highest Dexterity modifier, but rather highest Initiative modifier. Only in the case where Tim and Xaxos have identical Initiative modifiers would I require a roll-off.
I disagree technically with part of the reasoning, although I agree with the outcome.

I believe no check is necessary (not even a roll-off), because initiative has already been evaluated and set. If Tim readied an action before Xaxos readied an action and they are triggered by the same thing: Tim's readied action goes first. The only way Tim goes after Xaxos is if his condition is met later than Xaxos's condition.

No worrying or re-evaluation is required.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Post-edit, the order is definitely Xaxos, Tim, Bob.
Yep. I typically explain such things by stating that we are not determining what action is necessarily started first, but what order the actions are RESOLVED in. Logically Bob must act first, then Tim, then Xaxos, but we are determining that their actions are nonetheless RESOLVED in the opposite order.
 

evilbob said:
I believe no check is necessary (not even a roll-off), because initiative has already been evaluated and set. If Tim readied an action before Xaxos readied an action and they are triggered by the same thing: Tim's readied action goes first.

Their original rolls are no longer relevant, because they're not acting on that initiative count any more.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top