Werebat
Explorer
Ran the first session of my Lost Mines of Phandelver campaign this evening. We're all new to 5E and learning as we go.
In the first combat, where two of the four goblins were firing from the brush and hiding every round as a bonus action (as goblins can do), I was rolling well and things weren't going well for the PCs. No one was able to see the ranged gobbos when they did their "shoot/hide/move" routine.
Finally the wizard got the idea to ready a ranged cantrip (fire bolt?) to hit a goblin when he saw it pop up and shoot.
According to the rules, a hidden attacker becomes visible when the attack happens, whether it hits or misses.
A readied action can precede and attack it is readied against. However, the wizard's reaction couldn't happen until he could see the goblin, which doesn't happen until the moment its attack is resolved.
I ruled that the attacks happened simultaneously, which resulted in the goblin getting a crit and knocking the wizard unconscious at the same time the wizard hit with a flame bolt and did maximum damage, killing the goblin.
Was I right?
In the first combat, where two of the four goblins were firing from the brush and hiding every round as a bonus action (as goblins can do), I was rolling well and things weren't going well for the PCs. No one was able to see the ranged gobbos when they did their "shoot/hide/move" routine.
Finally the wizard got the idea to ready a ranged cantrip (fire bolt?) to hit a goblin when he saw it pop up and shoot.
According to the rules, a hidden attacker becomes visible when the attack happens, whether it hits or misses.
A readied action can precede and attack it is readied against. However, the wizard's reaction couldn't happen until he could see the goblin, which doesn't happen until the moment its attack is resolved.
I ruled that the attacks happened simultaneously, which resulted in the goblin getting a crit and knocking the wizard unconscious at the same time the wizard hit with a flame bolt and did maximum damage, killing the goblin.
Was I right?