ready action vs silent still spell

Hygric

First Post
An archer has a readied action to fill a wizard full of wood as soon as he sees him casting.

The wizard notices the archer covering him and trots out a silent, still, heck even material eschewed if need be spell to deal with the archer.

Should the archer get his readied action?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would say yes, because the wizard is still having to concentrate on the spell, and thus is taking his mind off his surroundings. An alert archer should be able to notice this, and let off the arrow. A Spot check might be in order, though.
 

The archer would get his readied action even if the spell is Quickend.

A still, silent, eschewed spell still triggers it as well.
 

So the archer may notice the wizard "zen out" kinda thing. Hmm, wonder what DC for that... or even if sense motive might be a better skill to use.
 

Mahali: why would it still trigger it automatically? How does the archer know what the wizard is doing?

Although I do agree that quickening by itself wouldn't help.
 

By the rules: You notice if someone is casting. PHB, magic chapter.

None of the abovementioned feats write something about making it harder to observe the act of casting.

Some groups are houseruling that spellcasting is more similar to FR novels (for example) where you don't see someone casting... you mostly notice the effects of the spells.

If you want to use these HOUSERULES (hint hint), include some skill checks, though I would advise to take spellcraft instead of Sense motive...

Or invent some feats or use some from the splatbooks that give rules how to hide a spell e.g. in a bards performance.
 

Darklone, don't suppose you could give me a page number there could you, please?

I want the official rules for this if possible, that's why I thought I would ask here rather than in house rules.
 

The offical rules are that, yes, the archer would get the readied action.

Maybe it makes sense, maybe it doesn't (I, personally, have never seen anyone cast a silent stilled eschewed spell in real life so I don't know). If you feel it doesn't, then you are in houserule land.

IceBear
 
Last edited:

Hygric, I am sorry for no page number since I don't have the books here...

But it's right at the beginning of the magic chapter. Hmm.

The same was cited a week ago or so in another thread... Someone else remembers which thread?
 

Remember that a psion provokes the same AoO when he uses his powers, no roll required to get it or to use a ready attack against him.

IceBear said:
The offical rules are that, yes, the archer would get the readied action.

Maybe it makes sense, maybe it doesn't (I, personally, have never seen anyone cast a silent stilled eschewed spell in real life so I don't know). If you feel it doesn't, then you are in houserule land.

IceBear
 

Remove ads

Top