Ready/Loose Shield Question

Arksorn

First Post
In Table 8-4 on page 128 of the PHB there are the move equivalent actions of ready a shield and loose a shield.

What exactly does this represent? I cannot find a reference to it in the text. If anyone can give me a page reference, that would be great.

I believe they represent the act of strapping a shield to your arm or unstrapping a shield from your arm. I also believe you would have to have your other hand free to perform either one.

Am I correct?

So to get a small sheild out of your backpack and strap it to your arm would take two move-equivalent actions (one of which you could also move during if your BAB is +1 or greater) and your other hand would have to be free, correct?

If you loose a shield it would fall to the ground if you did not hold it with one hand or take a second move-equivalent action to store it, correct?

Thanks for your help
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Sounds right.

Depends a bit on the DM though. E.g. if you wear a small shield and use your hand for something else, no problem. Do this with a large shield and I would ask you to use a ME action to ready the shield again for use. (Though I'd consider it still strapped to your arm)
 

I think you are right on every thing. Putting on a shield in the middle of a battle takes time and is disadvantageous. You need to be prepared for battle or lose 1 round (or more in some cases).

Putting on an armor in battle is basically impossible by the rules.
 

Li Shenron said:
Putting on an armor in battle is basically impossible by the rules.

Now this reminds me of that other thread about the Savage Species feat with DR :D

"Sorry guys, I first have to put on my armour...." Clash, chink, slash... "Nearly finished!" Hack, smash, thrust... "Now we talk business!"
 

I guess the one thing I'll say is that I normally wouldn't charge the extra move action to procure or store the shield (excepting a case such as your into-a-backpack situation).

For example: I'd always let someone carry a shield slung over their shoulder (which is how I normally see fantasy characters carrying shields). Like this, it gives no AC benefit. One MEA brings it to the empty hand and readies it. One MEA loosens it and slides it back to the shoulder. That's my original reading of that rule.
 
Last edited:

dcollins said:
For example: I'd always let someone carry a shield slung over their shoulder (which is how I normally see fantasy characters carrying shields). Like this, it gives no AC benefit. One MEA brings it to the empty hand and readies it. One MEA loosens it and slides it back to the shoulder. That's my original reading of that rule.

That's my reading as well.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top