Resistance Stacking

Sumash

First Post
Do resistances of the same type from different sources stack? For example, let's say I use a power that gives me resist 5 all, and then an ally uses a power on me that gives me resist 3 all. Do I have resist 8 all now, or still just resist 5 all? As always, a reference to where this is stated in the rules would be appreciated.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Usually they don't. Resistances that do stack explicitely say so.

Indeed. In fact, to be more precise, Resistances that stack explicitly state -not- that they stack, but they increase an already existing resistance instead.

Without that, no stack.
 

Is there some place in the rules that this is explicitly stated, or are we just meant to infer it from the language of the powers that grant resistance? It certainly makes sense, given that some powers state that they increase existing resistances while no powers state that they don't, leading one to conclude that not increasing existing resistances is default behavior. I just want to know if there's a page in a rulebook I can point my players to when they ask me this.
 

Try the monster manual for rules for resistance.

That said, they do have both resist 3 and resist 5. The resist 5 just happens to make the resist 3 not particularly useful, but it might come up depending on various special abilities.

The thing your players would have to produce is a rule saying they stack, not the reverse.
 



Remove ads

Top