Resistance to a keyword

Morrus

Well, that was fun
Staff member
If a critter has 10 fire resistance, and is hit by an area effect with the keyword "fire" which causes 8 damage and knocks targets prone, does he still fall prone?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Sphyre

First Post
If a critter has 10 fire resistance, and is hit by an area effect with the keyword "fire" which causes 8 damage and knocks targets prone, does he still fall prone?

I take it, you mean "If a critter has 10 fire resistance and it is hit by an area effect with the keyword "fire" (and no other keywords that need to be resisted) which causes 8 damage and knocks targets prone, does he still fall prone?"

I see nothing in the rules that say if you do not take damage due to resistances that say that other effects the power may have fail as well (unless of course, it's like lightning lure, that specifically says if it can't pull the target all the way, then it fails and deals no damage)

Fluff as to why this happens? If are immune to the heat of an explosion it still doesn't mean there wasn't force behind the explosion.
 

Nikosandros

Golden Procrastinator
An interesting question. IIRC, in 3e it was explicitly stated that if the damage from an attack was reduced to 0, you usually didn't suffer other effects.

However, there is no such provision in 4e. I agree with the other posters: you still suffer all the other effects.
 


DracoSuave

First Post
1) You suffer effects other than damage regardless if the damage is reduced to zero or not.
2) Resistance doesn't key off the keywords of powers, but off of damage types. Usually they are the same thing, but there are powers that have types that do not completely coincide with the damage. For example, Prismatic Spray has three different Hit components, and only one of them actually deals fire damage despite the power having the Fire keyword.
3) Immunity, however, only concerns power's keywords, so something immune to fire -would- negate ALL the effects of a power with the Fire Keyword, even the parts that are not dealing fire damage.
 

EldritchFire

First Post
If a critter has 10 fire resistance, and is hit by an area effect with the keyword "fire" which causes 8 damage and knocks targets prone, does he still fall prone?

Yes. Page 55 of the PH says:

"Resistance or immunity to one keyword of a power does not protect a target from the power’s other effects."

First column, second to last paragraph, first sentence. Ironically enough, it's the only sentence of that paragraph that wasn't changed in the errata.

-EF
 




Remove ads

Top