A question about Rightous Might (PHB, CLR 5 spell)
As noted in the description, it causes an increase in size by one step. The spell also lists all the things that change (Str, Att, AC, etc).
I am just wondering, however, why this size increase is not treated like a standard size increase? (More detailed chart in MM, p12 - same one referenced for the animal growth spell or something).
The way the spell reads, it differs from the chart in that:
It does not change Con, Natural Armor, Dex, Reach, and the Str change is a flat +4 rather than slightly more dynamic as is in the MM chart.
Or am I just missing something (i.e. some small exception that makes this spell that causes a size increase to work differently than all other size increases)?
Or maybe I am not reading the implied statement that tells me to just refer to the chart? (though that wouldn't explain the different Str enlargement bonus)...
Before I House Rule it to make it work like a standard size increase, I wanted to make sure I am not missing something.
Thoughts?
Edit: Dang, I thought I was putting this in the D&D Rules forum, not House Rules where it has now appeared. If a Mod sees this and can slide it over, thanks in advance!
As noted in the description, it causes an increase in size by one step. The spell also lists all the things that change (Str, Att, AC, etc).
I am just wondering, however, why this size increase is not treated like a standard size increase? (More detailed chart in MM, p12 - same one referenced for the animal growth spell or something).
The way the spell reads, it differs from the chart in that:
It does not change Con, Natural Armor, Dex, Reach, and the Str change is a flat +4 rather than slightly more dynamic as is in the MM chart.
Or am I just missing something (i.e. some small exception that makes this spell that causes a size increase to work differently than all other size increases)?
Or maybe I am not reading the implied statement that tells me to just refer to the chart? (though that wouldn't explain the different Str enlargement bonus)...
Before I House Rule it to make it work like a standard size increase, I wanted to make sure I am not missing something.
Thoughts?
Edit: Dang, I thought I was putting this in the D&D Rules forum, not House Rules where it has now appeared. If a Mod sees this and can slide it over, thanks in advance!
Last edited: