Ring of Force Shield with a 2H weapon?


log in or register to remove this ad




Also, and this is completely unrelated, do you guys think that Vambraces of Evil's Warding, from BoED (they give evil people that attack the wearer -4 on ranged attack rolls), are good for a 2H Paladin at 18000gp?

Calypso
 

I don't have the book with me at work, but I'd say no if that's all it did. I suppose it stacks with other items, but that's still a lot of money for only (essentially) a +4 to AC for ranged attacks. You can enhance your armor (not including material/mw costs) to +4 for a mere 16000 and that works versus all attacks, not just ranged. I suppose that item also works against touch attacks, right? That might be an additional bonus, but 18K is a lot to spend unless the situation of opponent evil spellcasters and archers is common for your character. If it's infrequent, you could get potions of shield of faith perhaps, or other options.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
I don't have the book with me at work, but I'd say no if that's all it did. I suppose it stacks with other items, but that's still a lot of money for only (essentially) a +4 to AC for ranged attacks. You can enhance your armor (not including material/mw costs) to +4 for a mere 16000 and that works versus all attacks, not just ranged.

All my players in my current campaign would JUMP on this item if they had the opportunity and pay double the price if they had to.

Why ?

They're epic (around levels 24). Non-epic items cap at +5, and you can only have one armor enhancement, shield enhancement, nat armor enhancement, and force enhancement. Once these are capped, you have to spend hundreads of thousands of gp's to crank your AC more (and you HAVE to at those levels).

This item basically gives ANOTHER +4 to AC to anything that is not a melee attack.

Yup, worth it, IF your other items are maxed.
 

Yes, you can.

You can deactivate the item as a free action, make your attacks, then reactivate the item. A two handed weapon can be held in one hand. If the Ring of Force Shield is active, though, you can't make any attacks (such as AoOs) you'd be entitled to.
 


Jhulae said:
Yes, you can.

You can deactivate the item as a free action, make your attacks, then reactivate the item. A two handed weapon can be held in one hand. If the Ring of Force Shield is active, though, you can't make any attacks (such as AoOs) you'd be entitled to.

You can activate it, but you don't get any benefit for the round, since you do not wield it, as you used both hands to wield the weapon already (I think you can spend a move action to wield it, though, so it would work with only one attack, but not with a full attack).

Note, while actions in abstract D&D combat are successive, they really are not, but rather they happen simultaneously. Whatever you do on your turn, is done while everyone else performs their turns in the pseudoreality, the combat rules try to model. That's why a shield has to be wielded in order to benefit from it; it's not enough for it to be 'just there'. If you spend the whole round whacking your opponent with a two-handed sword performing a full attack action, then your shield is not there to protect you at that time. Also see the buckler description, which is pretty close (also needs no hand to be used, but is inactive, if you use the hand for something else other than wielding the shield).

Bye
Thanee
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top