Riposte Strike and Quick Kill

So, with the release of Art of the Kill article, I find myself wondering how the Cutthroat multiclass power Quick Kill works when used with Riposte Strike as the at-will for the power. The following is just a small exert about the power:

Quick Kill Feat Power
...cut...
Effect: Use a melee or ranged at-will attack power on
the target. If you hit, you deal 2 extra dice of damage.
...cut...

My question is that would this additional dice of damage apply to both the primary attack of the power and the immediate interrupt attack Riposte Strike grants?
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Go one further

To add to this Art of the Kill talk, what is your ruling on a the Barbarian at-will Howling Strike coupled with Bravo's Finish?

As I read it, the extra dice bonus would be applied to both the [w] and the +xd6 damage, as they are both dice damage.

Your thoughts?
 

I would go off the assumption that you get 2 extra dice wherever you want but only three per attack. Such that if the attack contains multiple attacks they get +2 dice per attack. However, an attack that does both weapon and extra d6 damage you would have to designate where the extra x number of dice will be going.

However, on that note, it almost could be said that for multiple attacks such as twin strike you may only get +x number of dice per power rather than attack. So I am once again a bit curious to the RAI of these powers.
 

I would go off the assumption that you get 2 extra dice wherever you want but only three per attack. Such that if the attack contains multiple attacks they get +2 dice per attack. However, an attack that does both weapon and extra d6 damage you would have to designate where the extra x number of dice will be going.

However, on that note, it almost could be said that for multiple attacks such as twin strike you may only get +x number of dice per power rather than attack. So I am once again a bit curious to the RAI of these powers.

Well, twin strike and howling strike are both attack powers. If the feat adds damage dice to an 'attack power', then it wouldn't necessarily give twin strike an additional die for each attack within the attack power; just an extra die for the attack power as a whole. Thus, you could pump up one 'strike' of the twin strike with an extra die, but not the other one. Similarly, I would agree that howling strike could get an extra die of either size the attack is otherwise dealing.

~
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top