Vaalingrade
Legend
Any ruleset that thinks a thrown spear isn't a ranged weapon needs to be re-examined.A spear is never a ranged weapon regardless of how you attack with it.
I know keywording is bad and wrong, but they could have done something.
Any ruleset that thinks a thrown spear isn't a ranged weapon needs to be re-examined.A spear is never a ranged weapon regardless of how you attack with it.
You keep ignoring that there are links in two areas dealing with sneak attack and only one of them has a link to range. Given the likelihood that RAI is not to allow what you are proposing, it's probably that the error on DDB is with the link you are using.It absolutely is. It is defined on page 214.
Range Weapon is both defined and linked from the sneak attack section.
No link says that spears and axes are ranged. There is only a link saying that they have range.A Range Weapon is a weapon with a range after the ammunition or thrown property.
Tell me where I can find this definition of Ranged Weapon that excludes those.
No it is not. It is clearly NOT using that as a distinguisher. Based on the link it is clearly saying axes and spears are Ranged Weapons.
Because range and ranged are differe t words.
It doesn't work that way. A broken link isn't a rule of any sort. Hell, no link is a rule. RAW is what is written in the PHB and the definition of range =/= ranged in that book.Until it is fixed it still has it and it is RAW.
You can play how you want.
No link says that spears and axes are ranged. There is only a link saying that they have range.
Wait, so by your reasoning, a reach weapon can be a range(d) weapon? Because it attacks beyond 5 ft? Are glaives and pikes Ranged? Is that how you're gonna play? Are you gonna use Sharpshooter with a lance?"A weapon is classified as either Melee or Ranged. A Melee weapon is used to attack a target within 5 feet, whereas a Ranged weapon is used to attack at a greater distance."
So yes under this definition on page 213, which you qouted a Spear thrown beyond 5 feet is "classified" as a "Ranged Weapon" according to the very text YOU quoted. The same spear used to attack someone within 5 feet is a melee weapon.