Rope Trick... Broken?

Re: Re: Rope Trick... Broken?

shilsen said:


Nice story :) I presume your DM is in the "I don't believe in the FAQ" camp, since it was clarified that taking a bag of holding (or portable hole, etc.) into a Rope Trick has no adverse effects.

This is good news to our party, we've always avoided this combination for fear of being vaulted into the Astral Plane. Could you give the section that this is under? And page?

Thanks!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

D&D Game FAQ date 25/10/2002, pg 28;

Note you can freely go plane hopping with portable holes, bags of holding, and the like. Spells that produce their own extradimensional spaces, such as rope trick, pose no danger to occupants who may be using portable holes, bags of holding, and the like.
 

Yeah, they are right about the "any size" thingy.

I do wonder what the size of the entrance hole is. Or, do creatures of a larger size category than medium-size just get sucked in reguardless of thier size?
 
Last edited:

Van Dyksun said:

I'm really thinking yesterday's game was just all a bad dream. I'll be waking up soon and drinking bloody marys on the back porch with Bobby and J.R. at any minute.

Who shot J.R. anyway? A goblin?

Ahh, not a dream...but I've printed out the FAQ. After I finish re-reading the core rules I'll read that too.
 

Re: Re: Re: Rope Trick... Broken?

Lucius Foxhound said:
And I quote, Page 246 PHB:

"The space holds up to eight creatures (of any size)."

You're right and I was wrong. That change is indeed in the Errata and the SRD. Mea culpa.
 

It would be a houserule but I see an easy solution.

Make the spell base itself off the caster. The spell holds 8 people of the same size category as the caster. The entrance could let in creatures of one size larger but they take up two spaces of the 8.

Like I said this is a houserule but it helps keep the spell from being abused.



dkilgo said:
Yeah, they are right about the "any size" thingy.

I do wonder what the size of the entrance hole is. Or, do creatures of a larger size category than medium-size just get sucked in reguardless of thier size?
 

I think the spell is fine as is, and is far more useful than many give it credit for. You don't hear about many mages always getting this spell, but I've always thought it was great.
 

Lucius Foxhound said:
Okay, in our last adventure a bunch of us were climbing up into a Rope Trick, which holds a maximum of 8 people. One of our players is a reincarnated black bear. Our DM announced that since he's so huge, he counts as two people.

Just to add to the fun: black bears are medium-sized creatures :). They're big, but they're not grizzly-big.

Following general DM etiquette, I would've let it work this occasion, even if he'd been reincarnated as a dire bear. I then would've told people after the session that I thought that was ridiculous, and that in the future, the spell would allow 8 medium-sized creatures: there's no way that a space that would fit 8 great wyrms would also hold only 8 pixies. I would've given the wizard who had the spell an opportunity to swap it out for a different spell, based on my new ruling, if (and only if) he thought my ruling was unfair.

Daniel
 


Re: Re: Rope Trick... Broken?

Pielorinho said:


Just to add to the fun: black bears are medium-sized creatures :). They're big, but they're not grizzly-big.


It's so true. We've got a big 'ol grizzly miniature for that character, and I often forget...

Actually, I just wanted to hassle them. So I told them that the bear took up a lot of space and smelled really "musky"...a good powerful robust bear-smell that the humanoids took to be a "stink."

But they promptly told me how they could all fit, and the wizard used a Prestidigitation to dispel the odor. They're so quick-witted...that's why I have to hassle them. Keep them on their toes...

Three of us have printed the FAQ now. :D
 

Remove ads

Top