Rope trick teleportation?

A thought occurs; how does the Rope Trick deal with the fact that the planet is... rotating?

The spell description already holds it that the rope isn't attached to the planet. It's attached to a multi-dimensional space, a space whose access point is defined by the rope, not the planet.
 

log in or register to remove this ad





Then why the rope can be pulled free?

Because it is attached to the space, not bonded with it. Just because something is attached to something, doesn't mean that the something it is attached to is a location in the physical space. I think the spell even speaks to this by saying 'as if affixed at the upper end'. So, sure, it can pull free from the multidimensional space, just like a rope can pull free of an anchor in the physical space. Though this proves nothing about the multidimensional location of that which it is pulled free from. Nor, does it speak to whether the location of that multidimensional space MUST be where the spell is cast. The spell is ambiguous about this, though with respect to the very nature of multidimensional spaces, I think there is reasonable grounds for thinking that it can be anywhere as long as the means to reach it, the enchanted rope, is also there.
 

I still have to go my wife's reasoning against it. The explicit fact that the rope CAN be pulled free means that the space does not move once the spell is cast. And, it's worth noting that there is no rope on any 3.5 equipment list that wouldn't break if you tried to pull it free. No rope can actually take 16,000 lbs of force. So the idea that any real attempt to physically move the space (which is what trying to reach that 16K effectively does) will destroy your rope before it comes close to popping free, as in the spell description, only reinforces the spells immobility.

Since teleport cannot move other LESS anchored objects (e.g. one could not teleport with a door still on its hinges even though a door is probably well within the weight limit), I'd say it also cannot move a rope trick.

Now, if rope trick DIDN'T say the rope could be pulled free a good argument could be made for it's teleportability, but then one could also run around with an active rope trick like some bizarre children's balloon.
 
Last edited:

Could you take hold of a Wall of Force, and teleport with it?

Could you inscribe a Teleport Circle on the ground, then grab hold and teleport with it?

Could you cast Darkness on a point in space, then take that spell effect with you through a teleport?

The answer to all of these, obviously, is no. Why not? Because Teleport can't transport spell effects. Only objects and people.

Now, if the Darkness was cast on a movable object, the object could be taken with you.

If that Teleport Circle were inscribed on something movable, like a carpet, it might be ruled movable. (Then again, it might not. DM's call.)

Unless the spell effect is affixed to a creature or movable object, or says specifically that it can be moved, it doesn't move. And to be honest, I don't actually know of a single spell effect that isn't centered or affixed to an object or creature that actually says it can be relocated.

As for Zeno's Paradoxes and the motion of the Earth... The only one of his that even seems to apply is the one that says a runner can never start a race. And since the Earth started moving a long time ago, it's far too late for that.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top