Rules questions: (Stealth, Magic Missile & Goblin Brute)

zlorf

First Post
A few questions that came up after our last session.

1) Can you take 10 on stealth

2) What exactly does the special mean under the Magic Missile power?
Special: This power counts as a ranged basic attack. When
a power allows you to make a ranged basic attack, you can
use this power.

3) Can a goblin elite brute use his dual axe ability when he's in a bloodied craze?

TIA
Z
 

log in or register to remove this ad

zlorf said:
A few questions that came up after our last session.

1) Can you take 10 on stealth
Rules for take ten. "When you're not in a rush, not being threatened or distracted, and when you're dealing with a mundane task you can take ten".

Specific skills do not have exceptions.
zlorf said:
2) What exactly does the special mean under the Magic Missile power?
Special: This power counts as a ranged basic attack. When
a power allows you to make a ranged basic attack, you can
use this power.
Look up the level 7 Warlord Encounter Power "Suprise Attack". This, like several other warlord powers, allow other characters to make basic attacks, which means a Wizard with the MM power can use use it instead of a basic ranged or melee attack.
zlorf said:
3) Can a goblin elite brute use his dual axe ability when he's in a bloodied craze?

TIA
Z
I don't know what what you're are refering to. could you tell use what the name of the Monster is? (in the top left of the stat block)
 

I would generally rule that stealth is never a mundane task where you're not being threatened. So no, I would not normally allow it. In fact, sometimes I will roll the stealth die for the player, so the player doesn't know how well he's hidden.

However, I will allow people to take 20 on stealth, if they have basically unlimited time and materials to set up an ambush, move bushes and rocks to make perfect hiding places, etc.
 

small pumpkin man said:
I don't know what what you're are refering to. could you tell use what the name of the Monster is? (in the top left of the stat block)

It is a monster from Keep on the Shadowfell
 

zlorf said:
3) Can a goblin elite brute use his dual axe ability when he's in a bloodied craze?

[sblock]
Don't see why not, as long as he is adjacent to the nearest opponent. The only thing he can't use is Goblin Tactics.
[/sblock]
 

[sblock]
So both attacks would deal a extra 1d10 damage..nasty.
Party ended up being TPK'ed after loosing 2 members in the initial assault..fun was had be all. ;)
[/sblock]


Thank you everyone for the input!
Z
Mengu said:
[sblock]
Don't see why not, as long as he is adjacent to the nearest opponent. The only thing he can't use is Goblin Tactics.
[/sblock]
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top