D&D 5E Rune Knight Cloud Rune Question

With an invocation of the Cloud Rune, the new target becomes the target of the attack and of 'all it's effects with the same roll'. I read this that if the attack has advantage, then the higher roll becomes 'the same roll' meaning the roll that determines the hit. What if the triggering attacker is a rogue who uses sneak attack against the intended target. Does the new target take sneak attack as well? I tend to think that it would if sneak attack applied to the initial target because it's one of the effects of that attack, or would you rule that the second target needs to meet the sneak attack requirements for it to apply? or what if the initial target has Hex cast on it? Does Hex go off? I would think not since Hex is not an effect of the attack but of a prior casting of a spell? What if the attacker is an assassin rogue and the initial target is surprised but the secondary chosen target isn't? Would the effects of surprise apply to the new target? I'm sure there are other effects that may raise a question or lend themselves to shenanigans, what if the attack includes a grapple from up to 30' away? Thoughts?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Sacrosanct

Legend
Publisher
I'm playing a RK now.

In addition, when you or a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is hit by an attack roll, you can use your reaction to invoke the rune and choose a different creature within 30 feet of you, other than the attacker. The chosen creature becomes the target of the attack, using the same roll. This magic can transfer the attack’s effects regardless of the attack’s range.

Basically, the answer is yes to many of your questions. It includes sneak attack and crits and all of that (provided the attack roll would also hit the new target). As far as this part:

What if the attacker is an assassin rogue and the initial target is surprised but the secondary chosen target isn't?

Pretty sure the new target will be absolutely surprised to suddenly find themselves the target of one of their allies attacks, and done magically from a distance ;)

During our last play session I'll give you an example. We were fighting 2 gnome mind flayers. One of the mind flayers stunned the monk, and grappled it. Which then it proceeded to eat the monk's brain, doing 60 points of damage. But what's that? Because that brain eating attack required an attack roll, I shifted it to the other mind flayer. A TPK (it almost assuredly would be), was turned into stunning victory because none of us could reach that other mind flayer which was about to stun us all again. The monk player was certainly appreciative :D

Hex would only work if the attacker was also the one who placed the hex. So let's say a warlock hexes a giant. the warlock then attacks an ogre, and you shift the attack from the ogre to the giant. Assuming it hits, you would also apply hex damage since the person doing the damage (the warlock, not you shifting it) was the one who hexed the giant.
 

Irlo

Adventurer
As written neither the attacker nor the rune knight needs to SEE the new designated target, so this could be a way to nail an invisible opponent, if one were interested in that sort of shenanigans.
 

Thanks. You do need to see the new target as it is written. 'when you or a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is hit by an attack roll'.

As for surprise with the assassin, I'm inclined as DM to allow it. What if the first target has not acted yet but the second has? That can have an effect too. I have the impression that the rule as intended is that the second target is hit as if it were actually the first target being hit.
 

Irlo

Adventurer
Thanks. You do need to see the new target as it is written. 'when you or a creature you can see within 30 feet of you is hit by an attack roll'.

As for surprise with the assassin, I'm inclined as DM to allow it. What if the first target has not acted yet but the second has? That can have an effect too. I have the impression that the rule as intended is that the second target is hit as if it were actually the first target being hit.
That's refering to the original target that gets hit. "You can use your reaction to invoke the rune and choose a different creature within 30 feet of you, other than the attacker."

But as DM I would change that, for sure.
 

Interesting, I see that you are right about visibility. I had considered Cloud Rune as a way to hit a hard to hit enemy. i.e. target the minion and the Rune Knight uses the Cloud Rune to shift it to the BBEG if the roll is high.
 



Irlo

Adventurer
The grapple question is a good one. If the grappled condition is an effect of the attack, I guess the new target would be grappled. But when does the condition end? DMs call, obviously.
 

Level Up!

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top