thorian
Explorer
I noticed this in the latest 3.5 FAQ on the WotC site:
So does that make an intelligent item, like a sword immune to Mord's Disjunction, and should an intelligent sword be treated as a creature rather than an object? The DMG says to treat them as constructs, so it would appear so.
In a game I run, one of my players tried to use
Mordenkainen’s disjunction on a golem. The spell failed to
get through the antimagic field provided by the golem’s
creator, so I didn’t have to make a ruling this time. My
question is, would it have worked? Is a golem more of a
creature, having been listed in the Monster Manual, or a
magic item, as it’s created just like one? On that subject, a
golem is immune to magical effects, would this include
Mordenkainen’s disjunction? That is, is a golem a magical
effect for purposes of resolving a Mordenkainen’s
disjunction spell?
You can’t disjoin a golem because a golem is a creature,
not a magic item or magical effect.
Anything that has both a Charisma score and a Wisdom
score is a creature, not an object. Mordenkainen’s disjunction
would destroy any magical effect a golem was using, such as a
slow effect from a stone golem.
So does that make an intelligent item, like a sword immune to Mord's Disjunction, and should an intelligent sword be treated as a creature rather than an object? The DMG says to treat them as constructs, so it would appear so.