Salamander Attack Routines

kreynolds

First Post
The Average Salamander has the following attacks: Longspear +9/+4 melee, tail slap +7 melee.

My question is pretty simple. Is the longspear considered part of its monster attack routine? In other words, is a full attack for a salamander all of the above? I ask because, to the best of my recollection, this is the first time I've seen a monstrous attack routine coupled with a weapon attack routine. Kinda stumped me when I saw it.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Jeremy said:
Check out the description of how a centaur works when armed. I think it works the same. MM not following the rules. :)

Huh? The description of the centaur does not mention the use of their hooves in their attack routine.
 

It wouldn't be the first time I was wrong, but you'll note that in the text:

Greatclub +7 melee (or heavy lance +7 melee), 2 hooves +3 melee; or mighty composite longbow (+4) +5 ranged


There is a comma between the weapon and hooves and a semicolon between the weapon and hooves and the longbow. I had interpreted that to mean club and hooves are all same round. The same way that in a dragon's statblock the claws, wings, bite, etc. are all seperated by commas but the tail sweep is seperated from them by a semicolon because it has to be used seperately.
 

Thats correct. The comma indicates that the attacks can be combined in a full attack action. The semicolon indicates seperate attack routines (an either/or). It states it in the front of the monster manual somewhere. Don't have the books so I can't find the page.
 

from the SRD:

Noble Salamander
Large Outsider (Fire)
Hit Dice: 15d8+45 (112 hp)
Initiative: +1 (Dex)
Speed: 20 ft.
AC: 18 (-1 size, +1 Dex, +8 natural)
Attacks: +3 Huge longspear +23/+18/+13 melee, tail slap +18 melee
Damage: +3 Huge longspear 2d6+9 and 1d8 and 1d6 fire, tail slap 2d8+3 and 1d8 fire

Following Jeremy's interpretation (and I would rule it similarily) the salamander can use both weapons during its attack routine. I don't have the MM at work, so I quoted the SRD, so, the komma might be a mistake...;) OTOH, the natural (secondary) attack is at +18, which seems to be consistent with the rules for combat with primary and secondary weapons (see the stats for animals for example).
 
Last edited:

Yes, secondary natural weapons can still be used when the primary natural weapon is replaced with an manufactured weapon.

Also see Minotaur, Medusa, and Marilith.

It's not spelled out anywhere that I can find, that's just the way they do it.
 

Jeremy said:
There is a comma between the weapon and hooves and a semicolon between the weapon and hooves and the longbow.

Yeah, the placement of the comma and semicolon was what made me think it was part of the full-attack routine as well. Thanks everybody!
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top