Save DC for a delayed discharge

Hypersmurf

Moderatarrrrh...
A Cleric has a 16 Wisdom, with a +4 enhancement bonus from Owl's Wisdom, for a total modifier of +5.

He casts Inflict Light Wounds and holds the charge.

Owl's Wisdom expires.

He discharges the spell against an opponent.

What's the DC of the spell? 14 (10 + 1 + 3) or 16 (10 + 1 + 5)?

Similar question with Fire Trap - a Wizard casts the spell, his Int subsequently decreases; what determines the DC when the trap is triggered?

Does it make a difference if the Wizard's Int decreases during the ten minute casting time, rather than after?

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

This is not directly covered in the rules, but I assume you know that. ;)

I'd say that the DC is set upon the completion of the casting of the spell. This is pretty much a requirement for many situations, so it should be the requirement for all. For an example, if a blade barrier is erected and then the cleric gets drained down to Wisdom 15, does the blade barrier disappear? After all, the cleric could actually no longer cast blade barrier. Obviously, the blade barrier doesn't disappear and the DC would be 21 (assuming the example 20 Wisdom). The same thing applies to the CLW example. The DC is set upon casting and as long as the cleric holds the charge the DC would be 16. The alternative would be to force the spell to "fizzle" when the cleric's wisdom drops below 11 (or whatever depending on the level of the spell held).

As for long casting times, it would use the modifier at the end of casting. Note that if the wizard's Int drops below 14 (say injury poison and he succeeds at a Concentration check), I'd also say the spell would fail, so it seems reasonable that the DC would be the final DC.
 

It's about what I had.

Indirect supporting evidence is the Glyph of Warding spell, which specifies that level-dependent effects are based on the caster's level at the time the glyph is created.

The situation I'm looking at is a druid who casts a touch spell, then Wildshapes while holding the charge (losing the benefits of a Wis-enhancing item); versus a druid who Wildshapes, then casts a spell using Natural Spell.

The first spell has a higher save DC than the second...

-Hyp.
 

Ah, I see. Quite honestly, if the druid has a wis-enhancing item, I'd find some way to keep that while wildshaping! I'd hate to lose those bonus spells (and potential higher level spell access) more than the DC bonus. But, that's a side issue. :)
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Ah, I see. Quite honestly, if the druid has a wis-enhancing item, I'd find some way to keep that while wildshaping!

It depends how inconspicuous you want to be.

An innocent little bird probably has a better chance of getting close enough to discharge a touch spell if it isn't wearing a Periapt of Wisdom +4 around its neck... :)

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
[...]Does it make a difference if the Wizard's Int decreases during the ten minute casting time, rather than after?

Just keep the DC determined when casting the spell, not at the time delivering the touch attack.

What if said druid meanwhile had gained a negative level and would have to make a caster level check (i.e. against spell resistance the target to be touched may have)? Would you penalize the caster level check to overcome SR while holding the charge?

Or imagine the "reverse". A druid casts a spell - holding the charge - then gets buffed by an allied spellcaster who casts owl's wisdom on said druid? Would you increase the DC afterwards?

Plainly spoken: To "hold" the charge is to "keep things as they were". ;)

Kind regards
 

Hypersmurf said:
An innocent little bird probably has a better chance of getting close enough to discharge a touch spell if it isn't wearing a Periapt of Wisdom +4 around its neck...
I'm sorry that this is off-topic, but: if the periapt is absorbed into the new form it stops working?
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top