Saving Throw question

Judas

First Post
I was in a convention tournament game this weekend, and it was a blast. My question is this, If you roll a 1 on a SAVE, is it an automatic fail? I know on skill/attribute checks, a roll of 1 doesn't necessarily mean failure, but on saving throws?

It was ruled that a natural 1 rolled on a save, regardless of bonuses and situational modifiers, it still fails. Which was fine by me since I was casting the spell... :)

I'll do my best to give a full report of the tourney game after I hear a few responses to this question.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

3.0 by the book: No. No mention of such in the rulebook.
3.0 per the Sage: Yes. It was accidentally left out of the books.
3.5: I don't know, you'll someone else to comment.
 

That's the rule in Living Greyhawk, unfortunately.

IIRC, both Monte Cook and Ryan Dancy have stated that it was intentionally left out of 3.0 after some argument among the designers.

Regardless, Skip has finally won. The rule is in the 3.5 books.

:mad:
 
Last edited:

Judas said:
My question is this, If you roll a 1 on a SAVE, is it an automatic fail? I know on skill/attribute checks, a roll of 1 doesn't necessarily mean failure, but on saving throws?
In 3.5, yes, and a natural 20 on a saving throw is an automatic success. See the revised PH, page 136, column 2, Automatic Failures and Successes.

This is also the case with attack rolls, but not with skill checks.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top