Scrolls and Augment summoning

iwatt

First Post
Basically, how does casting a summon Y from a scroll interact with the Augment summoning feat? Does the scroll user with Augment summoning get to apply it to: (1) any scroll, (2) only scrolls created by him, (3) NEVAR!!.

I don't know if there's an official ruling so I'm asking around.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

NEVAR!!

It only works on spells you actually cast. Using a scroll is not casting a spell (though it is in many ways similar), so it doesn't work.

*HOWEVER!!!*, IMC, I'd allow it with any such scroll - but never a wand, rod, or staff.
 



Pinotage said:
Well, a staff is arguably closer to casting a spell than scroll, given the use of the caster's attributes, feats, etc.

I disagree. Staves are spell trigger items, while scrolls are spell completion.

In order to use a scroll, you must actually be capable of casting the spell in question at the level in question (i.e., you must meet the statistical, CL, and "spell on class list" tests) in order to use a scroll without problem, whereas you need only have the potential to cast the spell in question in order to use a staff without problem.

Spell completion is much closer to actual casting than spell trigger.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
I disagree. Staves are spell trigger items, while scrolls are spell completion.

In order to use a scroll, you must actually be capable of casting the spell in question at the level in question (i.e., you must meet the statistical, CL, and "spell on class list" tests) in order to use a scroll without problem, whereas you need only have the potential to cast the spell in question in order to use a staff without problem.

Spell completion is much closer to actual casting than spell trigger.

Shrug. I'd still allow both. Scrolls for the reasons mentioned, and staffs because the caster has the ability to control what comes out of the staff. Both are very spell-like. Having a 3rd level spell in a staff at 10th caster level and having that cast by a 20th level caster can significantly change the results.

Pinotage
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
I disagree. Staves are spell trigger items, while scrolls are spell completion.
Given that you get to use your own caster level, stats, and things like Spell Focus with staves, I'd feel it's eminently reasonable to allow Augment Summoning as well.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top