Shaman: Unanswered Questions in PHB2

Jools

First Post
My group has found the Shaman to be a really fun class, but some important questions just aren't answered in the PHB2 (which I have). 1. Can the Shaman's spirit companion interact with the physical world outside of attacking monsters? For example, can it flip a switch or push a button? 2. Does it have its own line of sight? If the spirit goes around a corner, pursuing a foe, what happens (assuming the Shaman himself cannot see around the corner)? These have both come up in our game, and are really important questions. There's nothing in the book describing the spirit companion outside of their basic description (which is also in the Shaman preview material over on DDI). I'm quite surprised at this as surely these issues must have come up in playtesting. Its unclear as to whether the spirit is vulnerable to opportunity attacks or blast/burst as well (although apparently that's been answered by the WOTC rules people). It seems like PHB2 errata is in order.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Might want to look up the rules for conjuration. They answer all of your questions, except the push a button one. As to that, I would probably say: It's a spirit!
 
Last edited:

It may not be listed in the actual Shaman rules, but there are a few things that should apply to them if they're conjurations.

PHB p59
If a power allows you to move a conjuration, at least
1 square that the conjuration occupies must remain
within the power’s range. If you move far enough away
from a conjuration that it is no longer in range, its
effect immediately ends.

So, you have to keep the conjuration within range. That means that whatever the original range was (10 probably) it will have to stay within it. There's also something to note in the line of effect section...

PHB p273
You need line of effect to any target you attack and
to any space in which you wish to create an effect.

Since you're usually sustaining a conjuration, that would seem to qualify as creating an effect, which would mean needing line of effect. So, if the conjuration is within range, but goes around a corner, you've lost line of effect on it and the conjuration should end.
 

Thanks for that, it does answer most of the questions. The line of sight issue remains vague I feel, but I'll go with the Doctor's interpretation as it seems the most likely. The ability to interact with the physical world also remains unclear, my gut feeling is the same as Jacks, I will probably go with that. It'd be nice to see some clarification sometime in the future.
 

Well, again, look to the conjuration rules. They say that it doesn't interact with the physical world unless otherwise specified by power description. So, if it doesn't specifically say that it can interact beyond attacking enemies, then it probably can't.
 


This situation is probably one of those 'whatever your DM decides' deals, answer possibly even varying depending on circumstance.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top