Sharing spells with a familiar (concentration duration)

Infiniti2000 said:
Specifically, an emanation from . . .?

So if Burning Hands creates a burst that shoots from my fingertips, is it a spell cast on myself? Can I share it with my familiar to create two bursts in different directions, shooting from my fingertips and from his?

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
That's like saying Tenser's Floating Disk is cast on yourself, because you're the one it follows.

-Hyp.

That is so gonna be my next wizard's calling card:

Cast Tenser's Floating Disk, shared to his flying familiar. Instant chariot, bird-powered. :lol:
Have to call my owl Jeeves. :heh:
 

SRD said:
Share Spells
At the master’s option, he may have any spell (but not any spell-like ability) he casts on himself also affect his familiar. The familiar must be within 5 feet at the time of casting to receive the benefit.

If the spell or effect has a duration other than instantaneous, it stops affecting the familiar if it moves farther than 5 feet away and will not affect the familiar again even if it returns to the master before the duration expires. Additionally, the master may cast a spell with a target of "You" on his familiar (as a touch range spell) instead of on himself.

A master and his familiar can share spells even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the familiar’s type (magical beast).
srd said:
Detect Magic
Divination
Level: Brd 0, Clr 0, Drd 0, Sor/Wiz 0
Components: V, S
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: 60 ft.
Area: Cone-shaped emanation
Duration: Concentration, up to 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw: None
Spell Resistance: No
Note that Dispell magic doesn't even list a target. It's not a targeted spell, therefore it can't be shared with your familiar. The only spells that can be shared are spells you cast on yourself. AKA, have target = you.

Besides, if you acutaly do what you're talking about, it'd still expire when you cease concentration anyway, and if you let the familiar keep it with concentration, he'd be the one detecting magic, not you.
 

Bront said:
AKA, have target = you.

Well, anything that targets a creature or creatures could be cast on yourself as well.

A spell that has an area defined in terms of creatures (like Bless, for example) could be argued to be cast on those creatures.

I'm inclined to say that an Area defined in terms of space (Fireball, Flame Strike, etc) is not 'cast on' creatures that happen to occupy that area; neither is a spell that creates an Effect (Spiritual Weapon, Disintegrate, Ray of Enfeeblement, Acid Arrow) 'cast on' creatures that interact with that effect.

-Hyp.
 

Bront said:
Besides, if you acutaly do what you're talking about, it'd still expire when you cease concentration anyway, and if you let the familiar keep it with concentration, he'd be the one detecting magic, not you.
And that's what the OP desired, so what's wrong with that?
 

From PHB pg 175 under Area:
"Regardless of the shape of the area, you select the point where the spell originates, but otherwise you don't control which creatures or objects the spell affects. The point of origin of a spell is always a grid intersection."

So a Detect Magic spell, having a cone shaped emanation, does not emanate from the caster, it emanates from a grid intersection. You are not casting the spell on you since you are not the point of origin so you cannot share such a spell with your familiar.

As for the Bless spell, the burst is centered on the caster, an exception to the rule above specified by the spell itself, but the caster doesn't control which creatures the spell affects.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top