Shifter...

Sulimo

First Post
I'm about to start playing a Shifter in a game (lv 6/4 Druid/Shifter). Anyway, I'm trying to understand what limitations the Greater Shapeshift has....

You only get the physical and Ex abilities, right? You don't pickup say feats (I read that somewhere on the wizard boards).

Any experienced Shifter players out there?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You get the physical stats (Str, Dex, Cha, natural armor, etc.), "natural abilities" (undefined in the current rules), and extraordinary abilities (fortunately making the question about natural abilities irrelevant). As per the description of Wildshape in MOTW, you also gain racial feats and skill bonuses -- you'll have to work out with your DM exactly which feats are "racial."
 

As a shifter you get all the benefits of wildshape, with a few extra bonuses.

You gain the physical stats as well as teh extraordinary abilities, AND the feats and some spell abilities as well (these are racial bonuses which are outlined in the new wildshape section).

For instance, spell immunity is a racial bonus of certain golums, which you gain when you greater wildshape into them.

In addition, you can also keep whatever equipment you want which you shift, you can choose which equipment to keep and which to have meld into you.

There's also a trick argument that says that there's no HD cap on wildshape. Based on what I've read, and my own personal opinion, that's bunk, so I would go with the can't shift into something with more HD than you have.
 

nharwell said:
"natural abilities" (undefined in the current rules)
(Like you said, irrelevant, but natural abilities are defined in the PH, page 158. "Things a creature can do that aren't extraordinary, supernatural, or spell-like are natural abilities, such as a bird’s ability to fly." This definition has been confirmed by the Sage and occurs again in the MM2. "Natural abilities" also have a [possibly inaccurate?] entry in the DnD glossary.)
Stalker0 said:
There's also a trick argument that says that there's no HD cap on wildshape. Based on what I've read, and my own personal opinion, that's bunk, so I would go with the can't shift into something with more HD than you have.
"The trick" is perfectly valid rules wise (for a Druid/Shifter). But it's horribly broken and should not be allowed.
 

Iku Rex said:

"The trick" is perfectly valid rules wise (for a Druid/Shifter). But it's horribly broken and should not be allowed.

The description of greater wildshape specifically says that you cannot shift into something that has more HD than you.

It does later say that as a druid/shifter you can mix and match teh benefits of both, but the examples it gives are the types of things you can shift into, nothing but HD limits. I believe it WOTC intention that the HD cap remain, for as Rex said, otherwise its horribly broken.
 

Right. The other thing I've wondered about is the deal with gear changing shape when you take on a new form. Especially in relation to magic items.

Say, I have a Amulet of Nat Armour +2, Elven Chain +2 and a Longsword +2 and I take on the form of say a Firbolg. Could I keep the use of all these items in the new form (with the longsword becoming a greatsword (+2) - the standard Firbolg weapon)?
 

Sulimo said:
Right. The other thing I've wondered about is the deal with gear changing shape when you take on a new form. Especially in relation to magic items.

Say, I have a Amulet of Nat Armour +2, Elven Chain +2 and a Longsword +2 and I take on the form of say a Firbolg. Could I keep the use of all these items in the new form (with the longsword becoming a greatsword (+2) - the standard Firbolg weapon)?

You can choose to absorb or not absorb your equipment as you wish. However, your longsword does not morph into a new weapon. As a firbolg, you've have to find a greatsword if you wanted one.
 

Stalker0 said:


You can choose to absorb or not absorb your equipment as you wish. However, your longsword does not morph into a new weapon. As a firbolg, you've have to find a greatsword if you wanted one.

Really? I assumed that it worked like Polymorph where it notes in the PHB that "if the new form uses equipment, the subjects equipment changes to match the new form and retains it's properties".

And checking MOTW it notes "nonmelded equipment alters its size to match the new form, but retains its functionality".
 
Last edited:

If the form has Natural Armor of equal or Greater value than your amulet the amulet won't do you any good.

If your sword is already a great sword than it sizes up to be a greatsword compared to your new size. If it's a long sword (medium sized) it will remain medium sized to your new form.

So your dagger does not become a great sword because you changed forms.
 
Last edited:


Remove ads

Top