Shocking Grasp Overnight....

Personaly, I might allow it, simply because it isn't going to be a game breaker. He's forgoing the ability to cast any defensive spells for one extra touch spell per day. You could easily argue that it dosn't get discharged unless you intentianly make an attack with it...

Though there's also a nice counter argument: check PH 148, sidebar (what is a spell). When you prepair spells you are casting everything but the very last trigger elements. Since you can't hold a touch spell through casting a spell, he would loose it when he starts to perpair spells.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Problem is: let them bend the rules (or their spirit) in that fashion once, and they'll do it again. Before you can say "Munchkin", they'll take their buckets into battle....
 

DiFier said:
I have never used this spell but I guess that you cast it and then can use it next round? or is your mele touch attach part of the somatic component?

The melee touch attack is not part of the somatic component, but you can use a touch spell to attack in the same round that you cast it. See PHB, pg. 125 ("Touch Spells in Combat").
 

Destil said:
You could easily argue that it dosn't get discharged unless you intentianly make an attack with it...
You might argue that, but you'd be wrong. Look at this page, under "Touch Spells and Holding the Charge." A held touch spell is discharged as soon as you touch anything with the charged hand, whether intentionally or not.
 

shilsen said:


The melee touch attack is not part of the somatic component, but you can use a touch spell to attack in the same round that you cast it. See PHB, pg. 125 ("Touch Spells in Combat").

then I don't see the point of casting tonite to store it upwhat benifit would you get from this?
 

DiFier said:


then I don't see the point of casting tonite to store it upwhat benifit would you get from this?

The idea of this little munchkin-in-prospect is: you cast the spell in the evening, hold the charge all the while, then go to sleep, and in the next morning get your full allotment of spells. Plus the touch spell you kept overnight. So instead of your, say, 15 spells, you have 16 for this day.
 

AuraSeer said:

You might argue that, but you'd be wrong. Look at this page, under "Touch Spells and Holding the Charge." A held touch spell is discharged as soon as you touch anything with the charged hand, whether intentionally or not.

He would have to be really good at debating to argue this one. How is going to not touch himself in some fashion through out the night's sleep? How?

If you really wanted to solve the problem then all you have to do is present your arguement to the player. If he rejects your ruling on the subject then just play it cool until the next game session. At that game session make things pretty slow until night fall comes, and the player decides to cast afore mentioned spell. Allow him t cast the spell because there is nothing keeping him from doing it. When the player in question is on watch and his time is up have him wake the next character to be on watch. WHAAAMMMOO! He just shocked the living heck out of a sleeping party member. What is he going to do?

Hopefully that would brake him of some of his munchkin wannabe habits.
 

Well, long time no see, haven't entered internet lately, anyway, i do think that he could not store it during the night, since he is a friend bfore being a player, it didn't hurt to say that a first level spell wasn't intended to be all that powerfull, and that "until discharged" wasn't really all that long, electrical energy is lost by contact, if he wanted to enforce that point of view i would say he would go loosing the spell to the ground very very fast...

Anyway, it is really good to see that people would handle the situation better than me, and i apreciate the help, so far!

:D
 

Here is what I'd do.

Tell him he cannot sleep or prepare spells with it charged. If he asks for a rules site, tell him you don't have one, but you feel it violates the spirit of the rules. This will nip the budding munchkinism and prevent a lot more headaches later on.

Let him know that the spirit is important, not just the letter. (and I know that that's blasphemy on this board, but its true :) )
 

I don't know it as blasphemy, in fact that is pretty much what i have done, just that i was wondering if anyone would be more rule adept to deflect the attempt...

he quite understood my point, but you all know that even when WE are players we sometimes "cry" for smething beyond norm...

edit: some spaces were missing... jut discharged them.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top