Sidestepping or Holding

Scharlata

First Post
Hi all!

If a character with the feats Combat Reflexes (PHB), Deft Opportunist (MH), Sidestep Charge (XPH) and Hold the Line (CW) is attacked by a charging foe, is it sound to assume that the character in question is getting

1.) an AoO from Hold the Line with a +4 bonus from Deft Opportunist against the charger before the charge is resolved;

2.) a +4 dodge bonus to her AC from Sidestep Charge (+5, if you count the bonus from the prerequisite Dodge)

3.) if the charge attack misses, immediately another AoO from Sidestep Charge against the opponent with a +4 bonus from Deft Opportunist just after the charge attack missed?


What about the "just one AoO from the same action" rule?

Kind regards

If it's possible post your comments soon :D
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, I don't exactly like the new rule in 3.5 that allows you to get more than one AoO against a single opponent in a round, but if we were using that rule, I'd definitely allow you to do it. After all, you've for four feats for doing just that, so why not let you use them?
 

Well, if you'd have Hold the Line and a reach weapon and someone charges you, you'd get two AoOs, one when he enters your reach and one when he leaves the first space of your reach... so no problem with your stuff as well. In case you're enlarged or expanded and you're fighting with two weapons, you'd get two strikes per AoO ;)
 

Darklone said:
Well, if you'd have Hold the Line and a reach weapon and someone charges you, you'd get two AoOs, one when he enters your reach and one when he leaves the first space of your reach... so no problem with your stuff as well. In case you're enlarged or expanded and you're fighting with two weapons, you'd get two strikes per AoO ;)
A character is only allowed one attack per opportunity regardless of the number of weapons being wielded. So even if you're enlarged/expanded and fighting with two weapons, you still only get one attack when he enters your reach, and only one more when he leaves the first space of your reach. The only exception to this rule of which I know is the Double Hit feat in the MiniHB.
 
Last edited:

sledged said:
A character is only allowed one attack per opportunity regardless of the number of weapons being wielded.

That's right.

There are two opportunities here, though.

One for "opponent charging into a threatened square", and one for "opponent leaving a threatened square".

They're defined separately, and are thus separate opportunities. The number of weapons you're wielding is irrelevant. If you have inclusive 10 foot reach (Enlarged, or using a Spiked Chain), you get one AoO for Hold the Line, and one AoO when they leave a threatened square.

Don't forget to add Karmic Strike to the mix, so that if the Charge attack hits, you still get your AoO.

Using a 'set' weapon like a spear or halberd (but not a donut-reach weapon like a longspear) is also going to be very cool here, if you Ready against a charge... as well as the Hold the Line AoO and the Sidestep/Karmic Strike AoO, you'll also get a double-damage Readied attack...

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

Hypersmurf said:
Don't forget to add Karmic Strike to the mix, [...]

Don't have a feat slot left. :)


Hypersmurf said:
Using a 'set' weapon like a spear or halberd [...] you'll also get a double-damage Readied attack...

That - on the other side - is an option.... :]


Thanx for the quick replies
 

Remove ads

Top