Silent Spell ...

Taurren

First Post
I regret if this has been asked before, but a question arose from a game yesterday, and I seem to have read a number of dissenting opinions. The situation revolves around Word of Recall and the Silent Spell Feat.

If a spell has only a verbal component, and the caster who is casting has the feat Silent Spell for that spell ... what are the implications of that?

Would the casting generate an AoO if there was an enemy beside the caster?

Would there be a visible indication that a spell was about to be cast?

With no gestures, words or material components ... what gives the spell away?

Your opinions and idea's would be greatly appreciated.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes, the caster generates an attack of opportunity.

Would there be a visible indication that a spell was about to be cast? Yes, and no. No, no one is necessarily know that a spell is about to be cast. However, anyone looking at the spellcaster would note that he suddenly stopped defending himself as effectively as before, and was concentrating on something, though they wouldn't know what.

What gives the spell away is that sudden look of concentration, that sudden break in the character's defenses.

If you want some verification for this in the rules, check the rules on spell-like abilities. They have no verbal, somatic, or material components (pg. 158 of the 3rd edition Players Handbook), yet still provoke an attack of opportunity (pg. 126). Now, if it were, say, a Quickened, completely componentless spell...maybe not. But even then, I'd say there's a split second at which time the spellcaster can be stabbed.

So, yeah, a Silent Word of Recall still provokes an attack of opportunity. While the spellcaster doesn't say a word, make a gesture, or pull out a component or focus, he does stop to concentrate, lowering his defenses and giving opponents an opening to attack.
 

Taurren said:
If a spell has only a verbal component, and the caster who is casting has the feat Silent Spell for that spell ... what are the implications of that?

Just to interject a little rules-reminder: you generally don't get a metamagic feat for a specific spell; you pick up the feat in general, and can then (as you prepare spells, or as you cast them for sorcerors and bards) apply it to ANY spell(s) you choose.
 

Remove ads

Top