LordVyreth
First Post
My first Warlock character is getting into higher levels and more advanced incantations, and I was hoping for a few rules clarifications for the decisions I can make now.
First, when deciding the DC for an Eldritch Blast's effects, is it based on the total level of the Blast or the effect that requires the save? For example, if I had Frightful Blast (2nd level,) and Eldritch Chain (4th,) would the DC for the fear effect be base 12 or base 14?
Second, what if both effects had the same save, like Eldritch Cone and Repelling Blast? Would there just be one save or two, and if two saves, do targets who make the save against the Cone effect (and don't simply evade it,) still have to make the second save?
Third, how does stacking metamagic spell-like abilities work? I assumed that you just added the level penalities together. For example, if I had Empower Spell-Like Ability (1/2 caster level -2,) and Quicken Spell-Like Ability (-4,) I couldn't use them both on the same blast unless I was a 14th level caster and only used a 1st level Eldritch Blast (14/2 = 7 - 2 - 4 = 1.) That seems reasonable, but I'm not sure if it's accurate.
And lastly, how can you Eldritch Blast when grappled? That actually came up last game. The DM allowed it, but we were up against a Bonedrinker AND a Boneclaw, so he might have just been lenient for our basic survival purposes.
First, when deciding the DC for an Eldritch Blast's effects, is it based on the total level of the Blast or the effect that requires the save? For example, if I had Frightful Blast (2nd level,) and Eldritch Chain (4th,) would the DC for the fear effect be base 12 or base 14?
Second, what if both effects had the same save, like Eldritch Cone and Repelling Blast? Would there just be one save or two, and if two saves, do targets who make the save against the Cone effect (and don't simply evade it,) still have to make the second save?
Third, how does stacking metamagic spell-like abilities work? I assumed that you just added the level penalities together. For example, if I had Empower Spell-Like Ability (1/2 caster level -2,) and Quicken Spell-Like Ability (-4,) I couldn't use them both on the same blast unless I was a 14th level caster and only used a 1st level Eldritch Blast (14/2 = 7 - 2 - 4 = 1.) That seems reasonable, but I'm not sure if it's accurate.
And lastly, how can you Eldritch Blast when grappled? That actually came up last game. The DM allowed it, but we were up against a Bonedrinker AND a Boneclaw, so he might have just been lenient for our basic survival purposes.